NHL playoffs

9 04 2008

The playoffs begin tonight, which means that I still have a shot at finishing my Upper Deck Series 2 hockey box off at the grueling pace of a pack a night once I finish off my 2008 Topps Series 1 baseball box.  Here’s some quick predictions:

The East

Montreal over the Bruins:  This seems too easy.  The Habs outscored the Cubs 39-16 this season in head to head matchup.  At least Boston still has football, baseball, and basketball to fall back on.

Ottawa over the Penguins:  It’s an upset, baby!  All the analysis says the Pens should sweep through Ottawa into the 2nd round, but I’m pulling the shocker here.

Washington over the Flyers:  The Caps ride their hot streak (11-1 in their last 12, and no cheap OT wins, either) through the first round to defeat the Flyers.

New Jersey over the Rangers:  I’m sad to say this feels like the right call, even if the Rangers managed to stifle the Devils through the season.  Brodeur will be the key.  As a Rangers fan, maybe I’m just always set up for disappointment.

The West

Detroit over the Predators:  I’m tired of the Red Wings.  I really am.  The Predators will get tired of them too.

San Jose over the Flames:  I flip and flop on this one.  The Flames can score on the Sharks.  The Sharks can dominate the league.  I’m going safe here, and taking the #2 team.  As long as they don’t play that way, they’ll move on

Minnesota over the Avs:  I’m not a fan of Colorado.  I even cheered for Detroit when I was in Denver for a playoff game years back.  It was the only game the Avs won that series.  But at least those fans have good memories of heckling me.

Anaheim over the Stars:  Hmm…  I have all four top seeds winning in the West.  It’ll be nice for one of these teams to win a round of playoff hockey.  They’ll be playing golf together after round 2.

Actions

Information

One response

24 04 2008
NHL Playoffs predictions, round 2 « Hand Collated

[…] predictions, round 2 24 04 2008 Tell me you didn’t bet your kids college fund on my previous predictions. Please. Playing it safe in the West didn’t work, and my big upsets in the East failed to […]

Leave a Reply

