Ross Emery Detwiler

14 05 2008


Ross Detwiler was picked 7th in the 2007 draft by the Washington Nationals. Late in the year, Ross appeared in one game for the Washington Nationals, striking out one in an inning of work. Because of that appearance, he was added to the Yahoo! database and I picked him up off the waiver wire even with a low pick. No one seemed to care, and I was pleased with my steal.

While opening my box of 2008 Topps, I pulled his card on the heels of his 5 inning, 7 k performance in his Class A debut. So I thought I’d check in on how he’s been doing since.

Not too well.

Ross has had six starts since. In the first five of those, he’s 0-2 with a 6.52 ERA, 13 BB and 13Ks in 19.1 innings. In his last start, however, Detwiler went 6 strong innings, giving up a run on 4 hits and striking out 6. More importantly, he issued no walks.

I’ve read mixed reviews of Ross as a 1st round pick, and I’m pretty certain no one expected a meteoric rise from him. But he has shown some ability to pitch well, and as a fantasy owner and pseudo-Nationals fan, I’d love to see him shine.

Detwiler’s next start is scheduled for tonight, as the Potomac Nationals try to break a two game losing streak.  Oh, and it’s Belly Buster Night, which is basically all you can eat from Bob Evans and Moe’s. I’d hate to be part of the cleanup crew after the game.

*UPDATED*  So how did Ross do tonight?  I’d call it a mixed result.  He picked up his third win, going 5 innings and striking out 6, but he gave up three runs and three more walks as well.  While the strikeouts are good to see, the walks are still a bit of a concern.  I’m sure the Nats will want him to refine his control before moving on to Harrisburg and AA.

As for the promotion tonight, no word yet on the amount of belly’s that were busted.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

