Beckett responds to reader complaints

6 08 2008

ejhanke has a post at the Beckett blog explaining some of the problems and addressing some complaints about the new Beckett. Here are a few of my favorite things:

The “message boards” are gone. This is a new type of message board, one that is not exclusive…it is all-inclusive. It’s all gone. It’s all different. It’s all new. Asking where things are from the old site are pointless now, they are gone.

One of the worst things a company can do is radically change something that so many people were familiar with and enjoyed using just because they think they should. I do believe a company back in the 80’s had some experience with this as well, some “new” drink they had made and decided would be better then their “classic” one. Were consumers clamoring for a new taste? No. Did it blow up in the company’s face? You bet. And eventually, this company brought back the old flavor and 86’ed the “new” one.

Everything on the site is integrated. You may only want to come to Beckett.com for one thing, but that entire concept is dead and gone. This is the wave of the future…eventually that is.

Why is this the wave of the future? Because Beckett has deemed it so, that’s why. Seems pretty arrogant to me.

I really only went to Beckett for one thing – the message boards. I don’t want or need everything to be “integrated.” But because I only went to read the boards, this whole change over isn’t going to be that big of a deal to me. More clicks to get where I need to go and a lack of bookmarking are frustrating, sure, but I’ll get over it.

The one thing I have noticed is there seems to be a lack of new posts in general at the new Beckett. This is either people leaving Beckett message boards for greener pastures, or people posting things in a hidden place that I don’t know how to access. If it’s the former, I’ll end up spending less time at the Beckett site and more time at other message boards looking for what I want. If it’s the later option, then I won’t spend as much time at Beckett because I can’t find what I’m looking for. Either way, the end result is less time at the Beckett website. Good move, guys.

And here’s some free advice Beckett (the next time I have advice for you, you’ll have to spend points to access it. Points are available for a monthly fee): A website should be intuitive and easy for even casual readers to get around in, and so far this one isn’t. People do not want to watch videos to find things they used to be able to get to with ease. That’s why folks are upset. You’ve made big changes that no one wanted except you. Don’t get upset that people are mad about this.

Here’s the part I really need help with:

We wanted everyone to trade, not just the message board people…everyone. Does that increase our revenue…you bet it does! More traders = more trades = more revenue –pretty simple concept.

Someone explain (outside the new fees Beckett will charge) how more trading increases Beckett’s revenue? Were their fees for trading through Beckett before the switch was made that I did not know about? If so, then I understand the “pretty simple concept.” But right now, based on everything I’ve read, that last sentence only makes sense like this: “More traders = more trades + Beckett adding trading fees = more revenue.” Did a phrase just get left out of ejahnke’s post?

As I mentioned before, I’m not sure why anyone in their right mind would pay money to trade cards. It’s one of the great things about the hobby, that I can exchange cards I don’t want for cards that I do without spending anything extra to do so.

I’m not sure why anyone at Beckett thought this was a good idea, why the person who thought of this wasn’t laughed at on the spot, or why whoever was in charge of this idea wasn’t told to take a vacation and think about what he or she was proposing.

If you keep reading this section of ejahke’s post, it seems to suggest that Beckett decided to charge money for trading out of love for the hobby. Quite possibly the biggest stretch I’ve seen since Plasticman.

The rest of the post is about deleted posts and collection queues. Beckett has a right to delete whatever they want, it’s a TOS thing, I’m sure. And since I don’t have a collection loaded there, I have nothing to add to that. Apparently, there’s five more points coming soon. If anything strikes me from them, I’ll be sure to post it here.

Actions

Information

One response

7 08 2008
jv

I sold a $40 (Beckett Value) Dice-K refractor for $10 (eBay value) the other day…

That’s roughly 5 more trades worth of “shipping costs” Even that’s more than I want to pay for trades.

You can bet your ass I won’t be paying more than that to Beckett or anyone else.

Great Post…

Leave a Reply

