The blasters I left behind

12 08 2008

So there I stood in the card aisle of a certain box store. I picked up my Allen & Ginter blaster, I grabbed a Goudey one, too, and I was all set to shuffle off to the register and drive home when I saw the Upper Deck Victory Hockey blaster sitting there on the shelf right next to them.

Had I not seen the Victory box, or had I not grouped these three together in a previous post and joked about just wanting to open something, you’d be seeing the results of opened blaster boxes over the next few days. But I stood there too long, set the boxes down, went to look at toys for an upcoming birthday, and then left empty handed.

No cards.

As I drove out of the parking lot, I tried to figure out why I had left empty handed.

The primary reason was that I have no desire to chase these sets. If that changes, I’d be much better off with a hobby box of A & G, and after reading this, I get the feeling those Goudey boxes will be there a long time. Heck, the store by my house still has loose packs from 2007, and I don’t recall them ever having blasters last year. That means they must have shipped loose packs in from other stores because they couldn’t sell them. Not a good sign for Goudey’s retail strength.

The second reason was that, without the incentive of set building, there wasn’t much guaranteed in these boxes that made me want to buy them. If this makes me a hit junkie, then so be it, but I’d like to know I’m getting something good out of one of these things, especially with the overall lack of value that blasters provide (each card in these boxes would cost around $.40).  Sure there’d be fun in opening wax, but then I’d also have two more stacks of cards to sort through in a closet already overflowing in stacks.

So instead, I grabbed some fast food and came home.  And I thought about actually filling in some of the older cards that I need for my sets.

I bet I could get a nice Ozzie Smith rookie for $20 somewhere.

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 08 2008
jv

Great Post! I’ve read a few guys today saying they’re not really all that happy with the direction Goudey has gone the last two years. I would have to say I completely agree.

I bought tons of ’07 Goudey blasters last year and came up empty handed (except for my Babe Ruth Relic from Wal-Mart…which has got to be a freak accident that it was in there…)

I busted a hobby box of this year’s stuff with my local card shop’s dealer and we got…zilch. We didn’t even pull the G/U (on average.) The auto we pulled was an Edwin Encarnacion…$6 is the highest I’ve seen it go for on eBay…yippee…

People can chide you for chasing the hits all they want. I absolutely chase the hits. Why? It’s the only hope of turning any kind of cash return on the box. I buy packs, boxes, etc for the base and inserts to collect and hope I pull a $600 1/1 auto to recoup some costs.

It’s too expensive to look at it any other way, I think…

13 08 2008
Patricia

More often than not, we put a blaster or two in our cart, do our errands, and then put the blasters back before checking out (which is easy to do, since the cards are near the registers) because we can think of so many better ways to spend the money. Then suddenly we buy cards for a while until we regain our senses. This is likely because you can’t beat sense into our knuckleheads with a stick; it just comes in inexplicable waves.

13 08 2008
Joey

I’ve never purchased a blaster box for the same reason. I’m either gonna decide to complete the set and buy a hobby box(s) or not collect the set at all. I don’t want random stacks of cards sitting around either.

14 08 2008
dayf

If you’re interested in a set and not hits, Blasters are the way to go for some products. For example: this year’s Goudey. Hobby packs are $5. for 20 bucks you get 5 hobby packs or one blaster. Hobby packs = 32 cards total, probably 2 short prints, maybe a mini card or two and if you’re lucky a relic or an autograph. Retail blaster = 64 cards, about 4 short prints, 3 minis and you’ll pull a jersey in every third of fourth blaster . So retail gets twice the cards at the cost of some hits. A&G is a similar situation, though Topps does put a little more oomph in their Hobby boxes.

You have a great point about how there are much better ways to spend twenty bucks though. It’s amazing how many vintage cards can be gotten cheap nowadays.

Leave a Reply

