A little more on Stadium Club (there will be blasters!)

5 09 2008

Topps is announcing that Babe Ruth, Mickey Mantle, Ty Cobb, Joe DiMaggio, Honus Wagner, Nolan Ryan, Roberto Clemente, Ted Williams and Tom Seaver will each have a regular issue card in their new Stadium Club release.  You can see the Babe Ruth card here, and if I have time I’ll post it later.

I’m not going to lie, it’s a sweet looking card, and if Stadium Club weren’t so darn expensive, I’d probably buy a box of the stuff (Actually, as I fly around the web, it appears retail packs will be released, too. An 8 pack blaster (5 cards a pack) runs $19.99. I’m actually looking forward to these).

More from the release:

The 2008 version features hobby favorite inserts such as Triumvirate, Stain Glass, Beam Team, First Day Issue, Photographer’s Proof, the all-new Sketch Card, the all-new Triple Autograph and much more.

I got out of the hobby the first time before Stadium Club made it’s splash, so I’m not sure if these are reasons to get excited or not. I’ll defer to the Stadium Club collectors of old on this one.

It’s set for an end of October release.

(edited – I see there’s been a checklist out there already, so this may be old news to some.  Still, check out that Ruth card.  Nice to see Topps put some effort in a nice design.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

