2008/09 Upper Deck Hockey Masterpieces, revisited

6 10 2008

I need something to tide me over until some of the releases I actually wanted to chase hit the street, so I purchased four packs of the 08/09 Upper Deck Masterpieces hockey release to see if the cards were as washed out as they appeared in the box breaks I saw on Beckett.   The answer?

Yes and no. 

It clearly depends on the card.  I really like this Bathgate, and not just because he’s a Ranger.  I think the ice blue background really helps Andy stand out from the card, much like he stood out on some mediocre Rangers teams back in the day.

This Lord Stanley card, however, is dull, dull, dull.

 

Is it an aversion to brown?  Probably.  And these cards are paintings, after all, so one person’s Mondrian is the next person’s Degas – no one likes them all.  

One thing I will say, though, is that the card images all look better on the back of the card, where the pseudocanvas paper isn’t used.  The full color comes out, and the Stanley looks more stately than staid.

Since, I don’t have a scanner, I can’t really show you this.  You’ll just have to take my word for it.  

One other thing about the retail packs, and I’m not sure if this box was a fluke, or if this is a nationwide thing.  The filler cards – the cards that take the place of the memorabilia cards when there isn’t one – well, they are slightly smaller than the actual cards themselves, but it’s noticeable to the touch.  Meaning it’s pretty easy to tell the difference between the filler and an actual jersey card, or so I’m assuming.  I guess Upper Deck could have made all the jersey cards smaller, too.  I’m not sure why they would do this, though.  So retail buyers beware.  

So will I buy more of these?  Well, it’s on my list.  The set size is small, and there are no shortprints included, which means a hobby box should get you close to done.  But I may put it off for a while while I chase some other new releases as well.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 10 2008
Ryan

I really like the masterpieces sets. While I’d agree that the cards aren’t all the greatest looking, enough of them look fantastic to warrant a purchase. Additionally, I love the fact that every autograph is on the card in this set. There are just too many sticker autos floating around now. Some sticker autos are pretty nice looking and tastefully done, but others are just thrown on a card. However, an on-card auto always seems to look better.

7 10 2008
chemgod

I finally finished the set, and let me tell you these look real sharp in a binder. My only issue is that there is so much new talent in the league and not one card of Sid the Kid or Alexander the Great?

Leave a Reply

