2008 Upper Deck Series 1 and 2 blaster

11 10 2008

I really just wanted something to open and was tired of the same old thing.  Being so far from a complete set, I went and grabbed the latest Upper Deck blaster, which combines series 1 and series 2 card in 5 cellophane wrapped packages (well, 4 and a bonus, if anyone really falls for that).  You get 165 base cards, 10 “Infield Power” inserts, and 5 YSL cards.  Here’s one of those Infield Power inserts to gawk at:

Not too bad, right?  It’s a 30 card set, and a checklist is here for those who collect teams.  I was hoping to pull a Brandon Phillips, but my hopes were shattered by the final pack.  So if anyone has one, I’m willing to trade you one of mine instead.

From here on out, it’s like all my other Upper Deck reviews:  Nice looking cards, I actually pulled a bunch for my set, but a number of them were damaged, too, and that sucks, so why did I go back on my word and buy one of these…

So far, there have been no signs of working these quality control problems out.  I give them the benefit of the doubt with each new box, but the packaging of these in particular (loose cellophane wrap, loosely in a box with plenty of room for them to move around in) leaves a lot to be desired.

Please, Upper Deck, please – do better in 2009 when it comes to damaged cards.  That’s all you need to do to capture even more of my hobby dollars.  At least now I can read the reviews at Wax Heaven before I buy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

