Finally, the 2008 Topps U & H Hobby Box, Packs 1 & 2

16 11 2008

I knew the second I hit publish after typing “more baseball tonight” yesterday that events would conspire to keep it from happening.  It was an optimistic idea, one that lost to the realities of life.  So here is an abbreviated version of what might have been, the first two packs of the long promised and often voted for 2008 Topps Updates and Highlights Box.

One disclaimer:  The images here aren’t the ones I pulled, and if I have to use a black border or a gold border to show the image I want to show, well, then I have to.  There’s no way around it for now.

Pack 1

UH90 Dan Haren
UH325 Clay Hensley
UH211 Brett Tomko, looking pissed

tomko-uh

UH20 Justin Masterson
UH57 Ramon Castro (+1 point)
UH222 Dave Borkowski
UH306 Casey Kotchman (-2 points)
UH96 Vladimir Nunez (-2 points)
WBC16 Paul Bell World Baseball Classic (+3 points)

bellwbcuh

When dayf and I were in negotiations for the scoring system for the blaster battle, I proposed certain players in the WBC set were “trap” players that no one would really want.  Paul Bell was one of those players.  Had I seen that card prior, I would have made it a +5.
MRH-GC Gary Carter Ring of Honor (+4 points)

carterroh1

Ah, Gary Carter.  Hero of game 6 of the 1986 World Series.  Not only did he drive in the tying run in the bottom of the eighth to send the game to extra innings, but he also started the two out rally in the bottom of the 10th that would make Bill Buckner famous.

When I first saw this card, though, I thought of a different epic struggle imagined Kid Carter trying to figure out which of his teammates put liquid heat in his jock (NSFW, by the way).  Topps had no better pictures than this one?

Pack 2

UH62 Matt Albers
UH254 Jose Castillo
UH224 Angel Pagan, captured in the perfect will he or won’t he moment. I’m guessing he does…

paganuh

UH106 Carlos Guillen and Josh Hamilton Classic Combos
UH154 Grady Sizemore All Star Derby

sizemorehrduh

I’m guessing he didn’t.

UH241 Chase Utley All Star
UH46 Youk All Star
UH76 Francisco Rodriguez All Star
UH58 Scott Kazmir All Star
YR161 Rangers hit seven HR’s (Marlon Byrd)
Checklist 3 of 3

Is there such a thing as too many All Stars?  This pack certainly comes close.

And again, I’m not pulling black borders left and right here, I’m only using them for the images.

The box:
Base: 18 out of 330 – 5%
Mets Ring of Honor: 1 – MRH-GC Gary Carter
Year in Review: 1 – YR161 Marlon Byrd

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 11 2008
night owl

Yes, there is such a thing as too may all-stars. I find that very annoying about U&H. If you’re a player collector I suppose they’re OK (but then again, how many people are collecting Ervin Santana?), but otherwise it’s space-filler.

17 11 2008
Patricia

The Ring of Honor cards are great, but that has got to be the worst photo of Gary Carter ever. Why would Topps choose that image? Do they not like Gary Carter? Oddly, the All-Star cards are boring but the Home Run Derby cards are striking. No pun intended. Better poses or perhaps just because there are relatively few.

Leave a Reply

