2008 Topps Update and Highlights Hobby Box break, Packs 9 and 10

19 11 2008

Disclaimer: Base cards may be depicted as Gold or Black bordered parallels. I just needed the image.

Pack 9

UH279 Alex Hinshaw
UH1 Kosuke Fukudome (I believe this is my third)
UH153 Armando Galarraga

galarragauh

All season long, I told a fantasy friend (one who plays fantasy baseball, not an imaginary friend) to trade this guy because it wouldn’t last. And all season long Galarraga did pretty well. Maybe it explains my lack of dominance in fantasy baseball.

UH216 Jason Bay – with tongue

bayuh

UH72 Pete Orr
UH132 Jorge De La Rosa
UH279 Alex Hinshaw gold foil
AS-JES Joe Saunders

saundersjerseyuh

Toppstown

I thought I’d be more excited to get an all star jersey insert, but I wasn’t. Not because it’s Joe Saunders, fantasy baseball team member and halfway decent pitcher in a “how-does-he-do-it” kind of way. Too be honest, I’m not sure why. Maybe the shine of jersey cards has finally worn off, or maybe I was just too worn out to get excited by it. I’m not quite sure.

Either way, those waiting for the box hit only can now ignore the next 27 packs. Unless you’re wondering now how many more Alex Hinshaw’s I can pull…

I will say that I’d like the card much better without the jersey swatch on it, as the placement of it seems to overpower the general design. But I’d collect a whole set of these sans swatch.

Pack 10

UH200 Luke Scott
UH109 Alberto Callaspo
UH32 Cody Ross

rossuh

UH136 Hanley Ramirez and Albert Puljos Classic Combos
UH37 Connor Robertson

robertsonuh

Looks like they caught him just outside the bathrooms there. I sure hope he washed his hands before putting them in that glove. Dark + sweaty = bacteria heaven.

UH112 Josh Hamilton and J.D. Drew Classic Combos
UH239 Milton Bradley All Star
UH77 Ervn Santana All Star
UH323 Jorge Velandia
UH251 Mark Redman gold foil
All roads lead to Toppstown

The box so far:

Base: 84 out of 330 – 25%
All Star Stitches AS-JES Joe Saunders
Black Border parallel: 1 – UH300 CC Sabathia 26/57, damaged
Gold Border parallel: 1 -UH78 Dallas Braden 1415/2008
Gold Foil Parallel: 6
Mets Ring of Honor: 1 – MRH-GC Gary Carter
Mickey Mantle Story MMS68
Word Baseball Classic Preview: 2 – WBC16 Paul Bell, WBC21 Carlos Lee
Year in Review: 2 – YR161 Marlon Byrd, YR169 Matt Holiday
Toppstown: 6, including one gold

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

