For my son…

22 11 2008

65-66brown

Arnie Brown, Arnie Brown, what do you see?
I see Red Schoendiest looking at me

57schoendienst1

Red Schoendiest, Red Schoendiest what do you see?
I see Ducky Medwick looking at me.

61medwick

Ducky Medwick, Ducky Medwick, what do you see?
I see Vida Blue looking at me

83blue

Vida Blue, Vida Blue, what do you see?
I see Ted Green, looking at me.

76-77green

Ted Green, Ted Green, what do you see?
I see “The Big Cat” looking at me.

50mize

Big Cat, Big Cat, what do you see?
I see Bill White looking at me.

60white

Bill White, Bill White, what do you see?
I see Bud Black looking at me.

84black

Bud Black, Bud Black, what do you see?
I see a “Catfish” looking at me.

70hunter

Catfish, Catfish, what do you see?
I see a proud father, looking at me.

Proud father, proud father, what do you see?
I see my son sitting on the couch “reading” Brown Bear Brown Bear, What Do You See cover to cover three times today. Sure, he probably just has it memorized, but that’s how this reading thing starts, right?

My apologies to Eric Carle.

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 11 2008
jv

Really, really cool man! That’s awesome!

I am of the persuasion that if there were only one subject that could be taught in school, reading would be the most important of all. I interview 16 year old “children” for a job by the boatloads everyday at my restaurant. The ones who turn out to be the best workers are always the ones who claim to score higher on reading comprehension.

The math nerds, the science geeks, the history buffs, and the gym class heroes are never as successful as the bookworms. I can’t really explain it, but this post made my day that much better. Thanks, Scott!

22 11 2008
tribecards

Awesome post! I love reading things that tie in parenting to cards and childhood.

22 11 2008
night owl

Makes me wish I had a son. But I’m thrilled I have a daughter.

When my daughter was very little, we read to her constantly. And now she’s one, bright girl. Reading is key to so many things. You’re absolutely right, JV

23 11 2008
Ted

I’m proud to be related to both of you, man. Give him a hug for me.

Leave a Reply

