2008 Topps Updates & Highlights Hobby box break Packs 23 & 24

29 11 2008

Sorry there hasn’t been as much commentary here as usual on this one.  After the blaster battle and two jumbos on top of this box, I’m actually getting a little burned out on the whole thing.  My preliminary numbers show me about 75 cards or so away from the set.  Hopefully I can knock those off in these last 16 packs.

Disclaimer: Base cards may be depicted as Gold or Black bordered parallels. I just needed the image.

Pack 23

UH67 Jamey Carroll
UH253 Josh Johnson
Uh130 Mike Cameron
UH93 Chris Coste

08costeuh

Coste actually sits on my fantasy squad right now along with his teammate Carlos Ruiz. Both were throw ins as part of trades I made this year. Coste actually hit pretty well, but would see his numbers decline the more regularly he played. Ruiz ended up a starter when I cut an ailing Brian Schneider for bench space. You can see that C is not a strong point for the team.

UH183 Greg Reynolds
UH243 Joe Mather
UH24 Tony Armas Jr
UH219 Damaso Marte
UH264 David Ortiz All Star
FC-18 Rutherford B. and Lucy Hayes

hayesfcuh
Checklist

Lucy’s the one who started the Easter egg roll on the White House lawn. Rutherford signed a bill that allowed women to argue before the Supreme Court. I tried to pick the nicest things I could find about them both.

Pack 24
UH296 Gabe Gross
UH284 Curtis Thigpen
UH98 Denny Bautista
UH262 Brian Wilson All Star
UH125 John Smoltz Highlight (3000 K’s)
UH232 Geovany Soto All Star

sotouhas

Here’s one reason why I’m so weak at catcher. In ’06, Soto was in the database but a free agent. I put him on a watch list, but another team added him before I did. I learned my lesson, though, and was a bit more aggressive this year.

UH17 Russ Martin All Star
UH41 Joe Mauer All Star
UH53 Justin Duchscherer All Star
UH75 Matt Treanor Gold Foil

treanoruh
Toppstown

Why Mr. Misty May? So I can link to this. Go watch one of the most impressive double plays by a catcher I’ve seen.

The box so far:

Base: 206 out of 330 – 62%
All Star Stitches AS-JES Joe Saunders
Black Border parallel: 1 – UH300 CC Sabathia 26/57, damaged
Gold Border parallel: 3 – UH31 Marco Scutaro 0015/2008, UH78 Dallas Braden 1415/2008, UH167 Justin Morneau Home Run Derby 409/2008
Gold Foil Parallel:12
First Couples: 3 – FC16 Eliza and Andrew Johnson, FC18 Rutherford B. And Lucy Hayes, FC40 Bill and Hillary Rodham Clinton
Mets Ring of Honor: 2 – MRH-DJ Davey Johnson, MRH-GC Gary Carter
Mickey Mantle Story MMS68
Word Baseball Classic Preview: 4 – WBC12 Carlos Zambrano, WBC14 Carlos Beltran, WBC16 Paul Bell, WBC21 Carlos Lee
Year in Review: 4 – YR145, Tom Shearn, YR158 Alex Rodriguez, YR161 Marlon Byrd, YR169 Matt Holiday
Toppstown: 12, including one gold


Actions

Information

Leave a comment