2008 Topps Updates and Highlights hobby box break, Packs 25 & 26

2 12 2008

Disclaimer: Base cards may be depicted as Gold or Black bordered parallels. I just needed the image.

Pack 25

UH8 Jeff Mathis

mathisuharrow

I think my dream job is now is to be a photographer for Topps. It’s pretty clear by now that they take a single shot of each player at the ball park on the same day and then hit the bars and the beach by noon. Obvious photoshopping aside, Mathis looks like he just found out someone superglued his hand to the inside of his glove. Again. Topps, he deserves better than this. Even if he did hit .195 last year.

UH308 Shelly Duncan
UH314 Wilson Betemit
UH179 Johnny Damon Highlight (Damon goes 6 for 6)
UH10 Evan Longoria
UH256 Aramis Ramirez is an All Star
UH317 Brian Buscher

buscheruh

Two things I can’t figure out: 1) Why is his nickname “The Urban Legend?” and 2) Why is it not “the Waterboy?”

UH56 Roy Halladay is an All Star, too
UH203 Joe Crede, All Star
UH160 Orlando Cabrera Gold foil
Toppstown

Pack 26

UH199 Lance Cormier
UH230 Jason Jennings

jenningsuh

I’m pretty sure that Jennings had a card in the series 2 set, also pictured with the Rangers, so I’m not sure why he gets a card in U & H.  With the way he’s pitched the last two seasons, though, this may be the last card of his career.   Who’d of thought there’d be a pitcher who was better at Coors then away from it?

UH91 Billy Buckner
UH147 Josh Banks
UH27 Reid Brignac
UH249 Chris Volstad
UH162 Eric Stults
UH108 Shin-Soo Choo

choouh

While we are talking nicknames, I can’t decide if I like “Coo Coo Ca Choo” or “Big League Choo” better. I also like “Choo choo train” and “My Left Choo.”

I really like this shot, though I’m wondering if Choo’s going all out for the ball and about to make a nice catch or he has been fooled by its trajectory and is about to badly misplay it. Either way it’s nice to see that kind of effort in Spring Training.

UH48 Grant Balfour
UH216 Jason Bay gold foil
Toppstown

A few of these cards are new to me, but a number of them I’ve seen before. I’m not sure why I think that one day the combo of hobby and blaster box will equal set completion, but I do. I just look at it as “supporting the struggling economy.”

The box so far:

Base: 224 out of 330 – 67%
All Star Stitches AS-JES Joe Saunders
Black Border parallel: 1 – UH300 CC Sabathia 26/57, damaged
Gold Border parallel: 3 – UH31 Marco Scutaro 0015/2008, UH78 Dallas Braden 1415/2008, UH167 Justin Morneau Home Run Derby 409/2008
Gold Foil Parallel:14
First Couples: 3 – FC16 Eliza and Andrew Johnson, FC18 Rutherford B. And Lucy Hayes, FC40 Bill and Hillary Rodham Clinton
Ring of Honor: RH-DJ David Justice
Mets Ring of Honor: 2 – MRH-DJ Davey Johnson, MRH-GC Gary Carter
Mickey Mantle Story MMS68
Word Baseball Classic Preview: 4 – WBC12 Carlos Zambrano, WBC14 Carlos Beltran, WBC16 Paul Bell, WBC21 Carlos Lee
Year in Review: 4 – YR145, Tom Shearn, YR158 Alex Rodriguez, YR161 Marlon Byrd, YR169 Matt Holiday
Toppstown: 14, including one gold