Trading Day: Trading with Justin

3 12 2008

Justin contacted me after seeing my blog at White Sox Cards. He looked over my wantlist (which you can do, too!) and found a few Allen and Ginter cards for me, but I was hip deep in trade offers for the stuff that had come in before. Once the dust settled on those trades, we quickly worked out our deal. Justin’s son got some SP Authentic cards he needed and Justin got some random Orioles and Rays as well as some Allen and Ginter cards he needed. I knocked another eleven cards off my wants thanks to him.

Here’s a few of them:

38 Andruw Jones

ajonesagjpg

I’d like to think Andrew’s watching his career get away from him here.

126 Chris Young

cyoungag

Chris looks like a little menacing with that bat in his hand. I guess that’s okay for the only rookie to hit 30 HRs and steal 25 bases. If he can get his batting average up, he’ll be an even greater force in Arizona for years to come.

143 J.J. Hardy

hardyag

For fans of smiles.

345 Francisco Liriano

lirianoag

Liriano’s 6’2″ according to the back of the card and it looks like this was done in a 5’10” room.

So those of you waiting





2008 Topps Updates and Highlights hobby box break, Packs 27 & 28

3 12 2008

Disclaimer: Base cards may be depicted as Gold or Black bordered parallels. I just needed the image.

Pack 27

UH326 Kevin Mench
UH120 Angel Berrora
UH167 Justin Morneau Home Run Derby
UH18 Andy Phillips

phillipsuh

Andy got a week to see New York when he was claimed off waivers by the Mets June 25th after he was released by the Reds, only to see the Reds claim him back July 3rd from the Mets when they designated him. Phillips is currently a free agent.

UH244 Brandon Webb All Star
UH47 Dustin Pedroia All Star
UH82 Joe Saunders All Star
UH101 Dioner Navarro All Star
UH159 Mike Aviles Gold Border parallel 1795/2008
RH-BS Ring of Honor Bruce Sutter
Work Hard, Get Cards

suterrohuh

I’m pretty sure I’ve already pulled a Sutter from this set, but since I’m sending out the ones I pull, I can’t be sure. Bruce was a dominant reliever in his time and is no doubt included for his Game seven two perfect inning two strike out save to clinch the series for the Cardinals.

Pack 28

UH50 Matt Garza
UH180 Scott Rolen
UH290 Carlos Gomez
UH135 Jose Arredondo
UH177 Emmanuel Burriss
UH129 Nick Adenhart
Topps Silk Collection Mark DeRosa 21/50

derosasilk
UH132 Jorge De La Rosa Gold foil
Toppstown

Just when you thought the big hit was out of the way… well, I guess it is just Mark DeRosa. And yes, that’s the actual card. I borrowed a scanner so you could see one of these if you hadn’t before.

I’m really not sure how to feel about this card. It’s nicely designed and I guess if you’re going to have parallels in your set doing wacky things like framed silk cards is one way to keep them interesting. I priced a few of these on eBay, and DeRosa would earn me a pack of cards if I’m lucky, so I’ll probably add it to the collection for it’s novelty value. Unless a reader has a silk Reds player to trade for it, that is.

I think the last inserts left are a Couples card and the magically Toppstown Gold card. I actually sorted all my U & H cards and I stand about 50 cards short of the set. I’d lack to cut that in half with the rest of this box.

The box so far:

Base: 238 out of 330 – 72%
All Star Stitches AS-JES Joe Saunders
Topps Silk Collection: 1 – Mark Derosa 21/50
Black Border parallel: 1 – UH300 CC Sabathia 26/57, damaged
Gold Border parallel: 4 – UH31 Marco Scutaro 0015/2008, UH78 Dallas Braden 1415/2008, UH159 Mike Aviles 1795/2008, UH167 Justin Morneau Home Run Derby 409/2008
Gold Foil Parallel:15
First Couples: 3 – FC16 Eliza and Andrew Johnson, FC18 Rutherford B. And Lucy Hayes, FC40 Bill and Hillary Rodham Clinton
Ring of Honor: 2 RH-DJ David Justice, RH-BS Bruce Sutter
Mets Ring of Honor: 2 – MRH-DJ Davey Johnson, MRH-GC Gary Carter
Mickey Mantle Story MMS68
Word Baseball Classic Preview: 4 – WBC12 Carlos Zambrano, WBC14 Carlos Beltran, WBC16 Paul Bell, WBC21 Carlos Lee
Year in Review: 4 – YR145, Tom Shearn, YR158 Alex Rodriguez, YR161 Marlon Byrd, YR169 Matt Holiday
Toppstown: 14, including one gold