Trading Day: Falling behind

11 12 2008

I’ve gotten three packages already that I haven’t blogged about and there’s more on the way.  And not only have I fallen behind in posts, but I’m now slowly falling behind in mailing cards out.  So rather than spend a lot of time detailing trades that maybe two people are really interested in (me and the trading partner), I’m going to group the last three here so I can do some more pulling and packing instead.

First, thank’s to Don.  Don was actually the only one to respond to my post about the heaps of late 80’s Score cards that I had (still available if you’ve got some wants!) and my willingness to trade them.  I was happy to send Don around 25 1989 Score cards for his set, and he responded with a few of my 1981 Fleer needs.

Jim from GCRL sent over a sizable package that put a good dent in my 1984 Fleer wants.  Before the package, I’d check America’s favorite auction site for ’84 Fleer lots.  Now, I’ve only got 16 cards left for the set.  On top of that,  he sent cards that I needed from a number of other ’80’s sets, including ’83 Topps, ’86 Fleer, and ’88 Score.  Now I have the unenviable task of trying to match his generosity with a package of my own.  Until then, kudos, to you sir. 

Last but certainly not least, Daniel at Saints of the Cheap Seats sent me a box so big the mailwoman has to drop it off at the front door because it wouldn’t fit in the mailbox.  Daniel had hinted he found a few of the cards I needed from my 1970’s wantlists in an email, but I certainly wasn’t expecting that most of a 660 card box would be filled with them.  More than 2/3rds of the box held ’72 and ’73 Topps cards, and he hit a few of my more recent needs as well. 

I’ve honestly been so busy lately I haven’t had time to look through the ’70’s cards, but it’s the first big group of cards from that era I’ve received since I started this blog, so I’m not worried that I’ll get swamped with the stuff anytime soon.  But I will be getting to them as soon as things calm down.

In fact, with the amount of cards he sent, it’s almost a slight to give Daniel a small blip in a post rather than one all to himself.  But I’m also thinking Daniel would rather get a package in return rather than words of praise here. 

So thanks to all three of you guys for your help.  Jim and Daniel, you’ve got cards coming as soon as I get them pulled.  I’ll just need to get some sleep first.

End of year clearance – 2008 Topps

11 12 2008

With only a few weeks left in the year, it’s the perfect time to close out those 2008 wantlists.  No need to have them looming over your head as we head into the new year.  So the plan is to post my wantlists one at a time and use it as a forum to help you, too.

Let’s start with ’08 Topps.  Here’s my wantlist:

2008 Topps

15, 24, 32, 64, 82, 123, 142, 148, 164, 201, 215, 238, 242, 261, 296, 319, 335, 353, 360, 370, 381, 413, 416, 427, 506, 508, 509, 530, 535, 537, 557, 568, 569, 574, 578, 607, 610, 630, 641, 648, 650, 651, 661

661 is that goofy Santana no hitter card, so I’m not really worried about that one.  But the other 42 cards should be pretty common and maybe a few of you readers can help take care of this list before Jan 1st.

And while you’re helping me, I’m happy to help you.  Got a wantlist for 2008 Topps?  Email it to me and I’ll see what I’ve got.  Leave it in the comments for others to see along with your email address and maybe others can help (just do the whole – email at host dot com – thing to avoid the spam).

Let’s help each other put an end to 2008 Topps needs in the world.

*UPDATED*  Alright, three folks.  I’ll be trying to sort through the three of you tomorrow.  And if you want to be helped, add your list and I’ll see what I can do.  But don’t be afraid to contact others who’ve already posted if you have what they need, okay?  We’re all in this 2008 Topps mess together…