Thoughts on Upper Deck Documentary

16 12 2008

For a brief moment in time, I was actually thinking of chasing this set.  I still might, but I’m worried about a 5000 card set and quality control issues with Upper Deck. 

Anyway, Upper Deck has the images for Documentary on their website now (the first 300 cards, anyway).  Here’s a perhaps nitpicky thing that will bother me, though.  Looking at card #73, which is the Reds 3rd game of the season, the recap on the front of the card reads “Reds fire-baller has debut nothing short of amazing.”  (Whoops.  I forgot to mention they were talking about Johnny Cueto)  The picture on the card?  Ken Griffey Jr.  Did Griffey play a role in the victory?  No clue.  There’s no mention of him on the card. 

Griffey is mentioned on card #74, the Reds 4th game.  It talks of him getting “untracked” while driving in two runs (the grammarian in me hates that phrase).  The picture on the front?   Brandon Phillips.

Say what you want about the release itself ( and Upper Deck must think there’s a market for this thing or they wouldn’t release it), but it’s little things like matching the player with the player blurb that would make a set that much better.  And if Jeff Keppinger really was the hero of game 7 for the Reds, then put him on the card. 

Anything’s better than Corey Patterson.

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 12 2008
morineko

From what I seem to recall from other posts, it’s a 5000-card set with the same 10 players from each team repeated, no matter if they’re involved in that game or not.

I’m definitely not interested in the set. If you’re a fan of teams like Oakland or Boston who churned through the rookies and AAA perennials this year, and those players definitely had impact on games but won’t get featured on the front of the card–there may be a point as a team collector, but it won’t be very fun.

16 12 2008
Paul

If they did it the right way, with photos from each game, it could be a neat set. I would definitely be in for the Mets cards. But since it sounds like another Yankees Tedium-style exercise in laziness, I hope Upper Deck chokes on it.

16 12 2008
thehamiltonian

I have been pondering putting together the Blue Jays season set (it would be soooo much fun to keep track of all those times the team just completely collapsed late in the game). I’m also probably going to pick up a copy of each of the Hamilton’s in the set.

That is – if it is actually Hamilton in the picture. I can’t get a really clear look at the card because of the giant watermark, but card 276 doesn’t look like Hamilton to me. I don’t ever recall Hamilton wearing high socks, and the guy looks a little skinny to me.

Leave a Reply

