End of year clearance – Upper Deck Masterpieces

18 12 2008

Here’s a set I’m not actually working on but is quite popular out there in the world o’ blogs – Upper Deck Masterpieces.  While some of the cards are true works of art, there are many other cards that simply aren’t.  Those misses along with the short prints have up until now kept me from this set.  I still wouldn’t mind picking up the Reds, though.  Looking at the remains of the blaster I got, I still need these:

52, 59, 98, 99

I also wouldn’t mind any of the Reds Signs of Greatness or Captured on Canvas cards, but I’m pretty short on what I’d trade for them.  Still, if you think we can work something out, drop me an email.

The idea of the Clearance is simple, and hopefully you’re getting used to it.  Post your wants in the comments along with your e-mail (use * name at host dot com* format to combat spambots), and be sure to check back as others add their wants.  Try to work out trades amongst yourselves as well as with me.

I’m not sure how much I can help you on this one, but I’ll give it a shot.  I know we had some Allen and Ginter matches made last time, and I’d love to see them continue moving forward.

Oh, and obviously we’ll do an Upper Deck one of these, but if there’s another set you want me to sticky post up here, email me (handcollated at wordpress dot com).  If there’s enough interest in a certain set, I’ll make sure it gets done.

Now get trading.

2009 SPx and Piece of History previews

18 12 2008

Mario posted the images from the Beckett Blog, but I’m not anywhere I can post my own copies of them.  Odds are you’ve already seen the images by now anyway and have come to your own conclusions.  Here’s mine. 

First, 2009 Piece of History, which looks like 2008 Piece of History (or Artifacts, whatever) in a different color.  The only reason you’d want this thing is if you are interested in imageless swatches of modern hollywood memorabilia, including left over swatches from “A Few Good Men” that were in last year’s release.

The Piece of History base set remains 100 cards, with 50 historical moments and 50 rookies as well, which are no doubt short printed and driving down my interest in this set further. 

Each 16 pack box gets you a Hollywood memorabilia card, a rookie auto, and a combination of two cards from the Franchise History, Stadium Scene, Box Score Memories, and Timeless Memories memorabilia cards. 

In other words, it’s the same thing as last year in a different shade.

2009 SPx appears to look like 2008 Upper Deck X, a puzzling move in light of all the excitement that X generates.  Boxes in 2009 will have 8 more packs than this year’s version without an increase in set size and will once again have seven rookie redemption cards.

 The 2009 release, however,  will see a marked decline in memorabilia and auto cards.  A box of 2008’s SPX, on average, had a total of 10 memorabilia or autographs.  2009 will include only 4 memorabilia cards and one autograph card.

Also included in the release is a Joe Dimaggio highlight insert set, lending further credence to the idea that Upper Deck signed  contract rights to Joe which forced the removal of Dimaggio cards from Topps Stadium Club earlier this year. 

With the exception of the Flashback Fabric cards in SPx (a dual swatch of one player on two different teams he’s played for), there’s nothing particularly exciting to be seen in either one of these releases.

SPx will hit stores in March, while Artifacts will arrive (no doubt with a thud) in April.





Trading Day: Joseph from MLB Collector

18 12 2008

Before I started the Year End Clearance idea, I got an email from Joseph at MLB Collector .  He said he had a few cards for me, and I found a few cards for him, and the rest is trading history. Well, it will be once his package gets mailed. And, by the way, I believe today was the last day to mail packages first class and have them arrive before Christmas. So, Joseph, if it’s not there in a week, we have a claim against the post office.

Anyway, inside the package was a couple cards from the 90 Topps set, an 83 Topps need, and, more importantly in my rush to end all sets 2008, fourteen Topps cards, all from series 2.

Here’s a few:

360 David Ortiz

ortiz1

I so want to make a joke here, but I want to keep this a family blog, too. Plus, I can’t afford an NHL suspension for a comment that Bettman would be ashamed to explain to his kids.

509 Alex Gonzalez

2008toppsagonzalezreds1

Will Alex be healthy enough to start at SS for the Reds this year? I have no idea.  Alex was a signing I was very excited about until injuries and family illness kept him from the field.  Hopefully he can return to the field and be productive once more.

569 Brad Hennessey

2008toppshennessey1

Am I the only guy who sings The Humpty Dance when I see Brad’s name? If I am, that’s okay. And if you don’t know why, I’ll post the lyric later, if requested.

578 Ricky Nolasco

2008toppsnolasco

I think I’ve mentioned him before when discussing what so far has been my worst fantasy baseball trade, right? I gave him up for Felipe Lopez. Ugh.

650 Frank Thomas

2008toppsthomas

Another questionable Topps image, unless you wonder what Frank looked like from behind.

Thanks Joseph for the cards. Wading through some of the emails from the End of Year Clearance stuff, I’ll be achingly close to done with this set once the dust settles.