Trading Day: Joseph from MLB Collector

18 12 2008

Before I started the Year End Clearance idea, I got an email from Joseph at MLB Collector .  He said he had a few cards for me, and I found a few cards for him, and the rest is trading history. Well, it will be once his package gets mailed. And, by the way, I believe today was the last day to mail packages first class and have them arrive before Christmas. So, Joseph, if it’s not there in a week, we have a claim against the post office.

Anyway, inside the package was a couple cards from the 90 Topps set, an 83 Topps need, and, more importantly in my rush to end all sets 2008, fourteen Topps cards, all from series 2.

Here’s a few:

360 David Ortiz

ortiz1

I so want to make a joke here, but I want to keep this a family blog, too. Plus, I can’t afford an NHL suspension for a comment that Bettman would be ashamed to explain to his kids.

509 Alex Gonzalez

2008toppsagonzalezreds1

Will Alex be healthy enough to start at SS for the Reds this year? I have no idea.  Alex was a signing I was very excited about until injuries and family illness kept him from the field.  Hopefully he can return to the field and be productive once more.

569 Brad Hennessey

2008toppshennessey1

Am I the only guy who sings The Humpty Dance when I see Brad’s name? If I am, that’s okay. And if you don’t know why, I’ll post the lyric later, if requested.

578 Ricky Nolasco

2008toppsnolasco

I think I’ve mentioned him before when discussing what so far has been my worst fantasy baseball trade, right? I gave him up for Felipe Lopez. Ugh.

650 Frank Thomas

2008toppsthomas

Another questionable Topps image, unless you wonder what Frank looked like from behind.

Thanks Joseph for the cards. Wading through some of the emails from the End of Year Clearance stuff, I’ll be achingly close to done with this set once the dust settles.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

