Trading Day: Dave at Fielder’s Choice

20 12 2008

Dave recently busted a Upper Deck Legends Masterpieces hockey box and talked of building a set.  I had a few duplicates, he had a few duplicates.  He had other needs from other sets, I had other needs from his set.  In the end, we are both winners, and our wantlists are slimmer.

I’m going to do a real qucik highlight post here because I don’t want to fall too far behind.

First, the hockey, from the 08/09 Legends Masterpieces set:

12 Mario Lemieux, 60 Rod Langway, 66 Marty McSorley

lemangorley1

That’s Lemieux in his return to the ice after being sidelined a few years with Hodgkin’s lymphoma.  Can you believe he only scored three points that game?  Langway’s holding the first Norris trophy by a Capitals player ever, and in his spare time serves on Her Majesty’s Secret Service.  McSorley is no doubt playing with an illegal stick.  Or about to assault someone with it.

Next, some 2008 Upper Deck:

51 Ben Sheets, 58 J.J. Hardy, 610 Pat Burrell

sharell

Sometimes I think that oft injured pitchers should have a damaged card insert set.  Sheets would be featured in that set alot.  Hardy looks very awkward there as he rounds second.  And Pat the Bat is out in Philly with the signing of Raul Ibanez.  The Reds are rumored to be in the hunt for him last I checked, although if this is to be believed, the Reds aren’t looking for much power from their right handed outfielder anymore.

2008 Allen and Ginter

184 Felix Hernandez, 219 Charles Dickens, 242 Takudzwa Ngwenya

herkenya

King Felix is a great pitcher on a bad team.  Dickens is no doubt finishing up “A Christmas Carol” in that picture.  Ngwenya had the Try of the Year in the 2007 World Cup.  Watching that makes me think America needs more rugby.

And finally, a few cards from 2008 Topps U & H set were sent (but I think we are all tired of seeing those) including one of Jason Bartlett.

Yeah, that’s right.  Dave the Rays fan sent me a Ray to help complete my set.  How awesome is that?

Thanks for the help, Dave.  Hope you got good use out of what I sent you, too.