75 Topps Minis cases to be put up for auction

23 12 2008

I know this is too late for xmas, but I do have a birthday that falls shortly after this for folks in need of ideas:

…[I]n May 2009, …26 unopened cases of 1975 Topps Minis go up for sale through Robert Edwards Auctions in Watchung, N.J. The boxes come from the estate of lifelong collector Charlie Conlon, who first found the unusually small cards at a store. In fact, Topps was testing the smaller format around where Mr. Conlon lived in Michigan. Upon discovering this limited run, Mr. Conlon hit the stores and warehouses in his area and bought up what is believed to be hundreds of cases. (Mr. Conlon, who died in August, never revealed the exact number.) Inside each case are 16 boxes of cards. Inside each box are 36 packages that contain 10 cards each. In short, 149,760 cards are up for grabs.

The cases are expected to sell for at least $2500 each.

Now maybe if I hold onto that unopened 1988 Topps box a little bit longer…





Christmas break

23 12 2008

I’ve been trying to keep up with posting and work and Christmas shopping and the family, but it’s not working out very well for me right now.  So I thought I’d take this little bit of time to let you all know I’ll probably be done for now, but should return shortly after the holiday rush is over.

I don’t even have time for a fancy holiday post, so this will have to do.  I’ll be trying to catch up on some other blog housekeeping though, including outstanding trades when I get a chance. 

Best wishes to you all for the happiest of holidays.  And thanks for reading.