2008/09 Upper Deck Hockey Series 1 Hobby Box break, packs 21-24

11 01 2009

So this is the end of this one. Happy, non hockey fans? Saddened, hockey brethren? It’s okay, there’s more to come. It may just take a few days to get it up here. So here’s hoping for a great pull in the last four packs of the box

Pack 21

68 Chris Neil
88 Martin Erat
26 Jeff Halpern
34 David Perron
112 Thomas Vokoun
107 Anze Kopitar

08-09udkopitar

150 Peter Budaj
177 Jason Pominville

Every now and then the big puck in the card design that shows player position throws me off. When I first saw this card, I thought Kopitar was doing some sort of flip move with the puck.  Then I realized the actual puck was on the ice in front of him.  Oh well, it’s still a nice looking card.   Kopitar’s probably one of the only reasons to watch Kings’ hockey these days.

Pack 22

27 Mike Ludin
44 Kristopher Letang
93 Saku Koivu

08-09udkoivu

5 Jeff Schultz
GJ-BB Brad Boyes
117 Rostislav Olesz
146 Ole-Kristian Tollefsen
171 Matthew Lombardi
124 Robert Nilsson

I suppose I should talk about the jersey, but I think Brad Boyes is superseded by the action shot of  Saku Koivu about to poke one home. There’s really nothing like it on a baseball card. This season,  Koivu’s landed back on the IR with an ankle injury, but has started skating and shooting drills recently and could return soon.

Pack 23

22 Paul Ranger
29 Paul Kariya
64 Mike Fisher
99 Andrei Kostitsyn
126 Henrik Zetterberg
115 Jay Bouwmeester

08-09udbouwmeester

197 Francois Beauchemin
186 Chuck Kobasew

Curious about the backs? Curious no more. Almost a carbon copy of the baseball backs, only with the stats and the write ups flip-flopped and the silver bar at the bottom telling you what set this is from. I think it gives the back a little more structure, and I like the looks of these better than the baseball ones.

Pack 24

33 Andy McDonald

08-09udmcdonald

98 Sergei Kostitsyn
84 Brian Gionta
14 Ryan Kesler
138 Matt Niskanen
122 Ales Hemsky
144 Kris Russell
148 John-Michael Liles

I had no idea that Andy McDonald played for the Blues, but when I looked up the trade I remember it happening.  Funny how you can have moments like that, isn’t it?  McDonald’s currently on the mend with a broken leg, but should return for the Blues soon.

Overall, not a bad little box. I really like the design tweaks Upper Deck made for the hockey set this year, and, as always, some of the shots are just stunning. Even the Young Guns and jersey pulls were decent, and I’m truly looking forward to Series 2 next month.

Hopefully I can find the twenty-one base cards I missed in my second box. I should also have about 150 duplicates when I’m done, so if you’re building the set I can probably help out a little bit. Just let me know what you need.

The box, at an end:

Base: 179 out of 200 (89.5%)
Young Guns (1:6): 7 out of 50 (14%) – Bogosian, Sbisa, Fistric, Doughty, Wheeler, D’Agostini, Sestito
Game Used: 2 – Chris Chelios, Brad Boyes
Captains Calling (1:24): 1 – Brendan Morrow
Hat Trick Heroes (1:12): 2 – Joe Sakic, Dany Heatley
Hockey Heroes (1:12): 2 – Sidney Crosby x2
Sophomore Sensations (1:24): 1 – Patrick Kane
Winter Classic Highlights (1:12): 2 – Campbell, Armstrong

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

