2008/09 Upper Deck Hockey Hobby Box review, Box 2

17 01 2009

I’d hoped by buying two wax boxes of 2008/09 Upper Deck Series 1 hockey that I’d end up with a complete base set.  Poor collation on box 2 would prove that to be a pipe dream, as I pulled 38 duplicates, and all from the first 100 cards.  You can imagine where most of the base cards on my wantlist reside.

It’s a shame, too, because I was all set to write a glowing review of the stuff.  And to be fair, this box was just as fun to rip as the first even with all the duplicates.  Perhaps if this had been my first box, or the first of the two I opened, I’d be more upset.  Instead, I’m just hoping I saved someone new to the hockey card world from a real turn off by getting this one, too.

On the plus side, I pulled two of the Sophomore Sensations inserts when I should have pulled one.  On the other hand, I was shorted a Captain’s Calling insert, and two of the Young Guns I received were duplicates from the first box.

So I still really like Upper Deck Series 1 hockey, it’s just that I’m pretty much in the same place I was before I opened the second box.  If there’s a lesson there, I’m not sure exactly what it is.

The box:

Base: 140 out of 200, plus 38 duplicates (70%)
Young Guns (1:6): 6 out of 50 (12%) – Sbisa, Wheeler, Brassard, Okoposo, Stone, Brown
Game Used: 2 – Jeff Carter, Jay Bouwmeester
Captains Calling (1:24): 1 -Jerome Iginla
Hat Trick Heroes (1:12): 2 – Eric Staal
Hockey Heroes (1:12): 2 – Sidney Crosby x2
Sophomore Sensations (1:24): 2 – Toews, Price
Winter Classic Highlights (1:12): 2 – Malkin, Pominville

Actions

Information

One response

14 10 2009
Joey Collins

Tough luck on the dups, but not a bad haul on the rookies!

Hockey Hobby Boxes

Leave a Reply

