2009 Upper Deck Series 2 preview

19 02 2009

Mario has already posted a preview for Upper Deck series 2, and there’s not much I have to add to it, but I do need to make a correction on something posted earlier.

Back on Feb 4th, I posted news from a presell of Upper Deck series 2 that hobby boxes would feature only one memorablia card and one autograph card. This according to Upper Deck’s sell sheet is incorrect.

Upper Deck series 2 will continue the Upper Deck tradition of two memorabilia cards and one autograph card per hobby box, on average. I apologize for the misinformation.

The best news in my opinion about Upper Deck series 2 is the return of the USA baseball signed game-jersey cards #ed up to 225. These were actually some of my favorite cards in last year’s series 2 release and I’m glad that after a month of gripeworthy moves from Upper Deck they’ve finally done something to merit some kudos.

Good job, guys.

Hobby boxes of series 2 will also feature one 1989 Upper Deck buyback (meh!), one 1977 O-Pee-chee retro insert (hooray!), and eight of those 20th annivesary inserts (boo!).

Cases will hold one 20th anniversary memorabilia card and one game material autograph. As an added chase, Upper Deck wil insert 1993 Upper Deck Derek Jeter Rookie buybacks. I imagine these will be similar to the Griffey rookies in Series 1, but we’ll have to wait and see.

Upper Deck series 2 is scheduled for a May 20th

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 02 2009
freeandylaroche

May 20th? Wow, that seems early. I can’t remember when they came out last year, but I want to say that I didn’t open my 08 Topps S2 box until mid-June or so.

20 02 2009
handcollated

2008 Topps and Upper Deck Series 2 came out May 29th, fyi.

Leave a Reply

