2009 Upper Deck Hobby box break

22 02 2009
Frank ponders where Upper Deck went wrong.

Frank Thomas looks on in disappointment and wonders where Upper Deck went wrong.

I don’t want to waste too much time here, but let me say this:  If Upper Deck were a puppy, I would rub it’s nose it damaged cards and then whack it with a rolled up newspaper.

One out of every three cards in my box of 2009 Series 1 baseball cards had some sort of noticeable flaw, with the majority having crease marks on the back in the upper left corner where (I assume) sort piece of machinery got too close and left it’s mark.  Somehow this caused a sizable bend in the opposite corner as well.

It’s a shame, too, because I was actually thinking of all the positive things I would say about this box when I started to notice the carnage.  Hopefully this is the exception and not the rule.  But after seeing stories like this, I’m not going to hold my breath as I open box number two.

If there’s scans you want to see, let me know.  Otherwise, I’m just going to put this one behind me and let it go.

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 02 2009
Joey

Ouch, that has to be one of the most frustrating things about the hobby. You spend your hard earned money on a hobby box and then find a ton of damaged product inside.

Have you already bought another box?

22 02 2009
Michel Rivolta

I went through this several times during last year, all retail products. No matter how big the flaw is I returned the whole bunch of cards to UD for a complete replacement.

22 02 2009
handcollated

Joey –

Yeah, I bought two boxes at the same time, so I’m worried that it’ll have the same problems as the first. Here’s hoping I’m wrong, though.

Leave a Reply

