Things I’d forgotten, 1987 Topps edition pt. 2

22 02 2009

It seems that 1987 Topps is a pretty popular set to build nowadays, which is okay with me because I’ve got two 800 count boxes filled with duplicates.  I bought so much of this stuff when it came out just so I could finish the set.

While pulling cards for a trade that may help jump start my 1989 Upper Deck quest, I found Joaquín Andújar in an Oakland A’s jersey.  I’d forgotten all about that.

1987toppsandujar

Oakland's green was made for baseball cards

Joaquín was quite the character while in the majors and maddeningly inconsistent, too.  In 1982 for the Cardinals he was brilliant, going 15-10 with a 2.47 ERA.  In 1983, he struggled to go 6-16.  In 1984, he led the NL in wins and was a 20 game winner.  In 1985 he continued that success for the first four moths of the season before falling apart in August and the playoffs.  St. Louis would then trade him to Oakland in the off season.

1986 would be the beginning of the end for Andújar’s career.  It was around this time that Andújar started talking about some sort of conspiracy to get him out of baseball, a conspiracy that included self admitted cocaine abuse during a court trail and sustaining an injury while taking batting practice as a pitcher in American League.  That injury along with others would ruin his 1987 season and by 1989 he was out of baseball.

Perhaps even stranger than Andújar himself is the fact that Topps includes on the back of his card.

1987toppsandujarback

I’m at a loss on this one.  Is there an Andújar fan out there who can explain what that means?

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 02 2009
MMayes

I absolutely loved to watch Andujar pitch in the 80’s. He’s the only pitcher I’ve ever seen that threw inside at a batter and then threw his glove down and charged the plate when the batter (Tony Pena) mouthed him.

That being said…..I know nothing about his house and how “47” is blended into the design. Andujar is a unique individual, so I wouldn’t put anything past him.

24 02 2009
handcollated

See, I read it differently, and when you say that, it now makes a little more sense. I read “blended in design of his home” and thought akin to “blended like a Degas” not blended into his home itself. Mystery solved, or at least enough for me.

Leave a Reply

