Lost time, found Foli

10 03 2009

So I’ve got this 400 count box of baseball cards in my closet that I’ve been needing to sort for the last few months.  It’s just a matter of double checking my sets to make sure I don’t need the cards and then putting the duplicates away in the proper place.  Nothing major, but a time consuming process that I really haven’t wanted to undertake.

Tonight I had some free time, so I got the box down and a Red Brick Peachtree Pale Ale (it grew on me) and decided to get to work.

The first card from the box was this beauty from 1977 Topps:

1977toppsfoli

I was trying to figure out where this card came from as I crossed in off my wantlist, and initially I thought I had it because he’s a former Red.  And while Mr. Foli did once coach for the Reds from 2000-2003 (while there he bit fellow coach Ron Oester in the shower room in 2001), I recalled Tim playing infield for the Reds back in the 80’s.  So when I clicked on Tim’s Baseball Reference page, I was surprised to see no stats with Cincinnati.  Clearly I had remembered it wrong.

It took me forty-five minutes to track down the name of the guy I had him confused with.   I wonder if those two get confused often.  I also read more about Tim’s career and found he’s the answer to a few good trivia questions that I thought I’d share with you:

1) Who was the first player picked in the 1968 draft?

2) Who was the first Expo to hit for the cycle?

and

3) Who was the shortstop for the 1979 World Series winning Pittsburgh Pirates?

Feel free to use any of those to score free hot wings and nachos from your friends.

And while I’m thrilled to expand my Tim Foli knowledge base, all that time wasted on research means no time to sort.  So it’s back to the box for you, Tim.  But now that I know who you are, I should be able to put you where you belong when I see you again.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 03 2009
Johnny

You were probably thinking of Tom Foley. He was a middle infielder for the Reds in the mid 80s. Great blog BTW.

10 03 2009
Johnny

OK, next time I will read the whole post before commenting. hehe

10 03 2009
Mike

Did you get him confused with 80’s Red/Expo infielder Tom Foley? If so, you’re not the only one that ever made that mistake.

Leave a Reply

