Bulltopps

24 03 2009

My latest personal message from Topps, packed with my replacement cards:
toppsletter2

Are you kidding me? If I sent a card to be graded, and it had scuff marks but was otherwise pristine, would I get a 10? Nope, I’d get dinged for the scuff marks. Therefore, scuff marks = damaged.

It’s nice to know, though, that if I take a belt sander to a Topps card that it’s still considered undamaged in their eyes.  Or if I drop it and scrap it along a gravel road, that’s okay, too.  I’m not sure what they did in the factory to cause such marks, but it’s ludicrous to think that in Topps eyes these cards are okay.

I haven’t had a chance to look over the cards Topps sent as I was on the way out the door when the mail arrived.  Hopefully I’ll get a one time courtesy replacement and be done with it.  If not, look for some 2009 Topps cards to be added to my wantlist soon.

*UPDATE* Even though Topps didn’t think the cards were “damaged,” they replaced them anyway, so I guess I shouldn’t complain. But what’s the point of that message then?

Actions

Information

5 responses

24 03 2009
tastelikedirt

Your ignoring the positives here. Topps sent you a personalized hand written reply. Or from the looks of it, they had some 8 year old kid working in one of thier sweat shops write you a note.

24 03 2009
madding

It’s pretty hilarious (and wrong) that they pointed out to you exactly what was wrong with the cards and then claimed that they weren’t damaged. If something is noticeably wrong, it’s definitely damaged.

24 03 2009
Bobby

At least Topps responds and replaces cards. I have always had good luck with them. I bought my son a box of 2009 upper deck series 1 baseball and there were 20 severely damaged cards. After some senseless emails from their customer service and 2 sent scans, We still have not received squat. Needless to say, I have not bought anything upper deck since.

24 03 2009
night owl

Someone needs to scuff up the finish on the vehicle of a Topps high muckety-muck and then ask him whether he considers the vehicle damaged or not.

24 03 2009
tribecards

I like N.O’s idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

