Fantasy trade

24 03 2009

For anyone who reads my fantasy related posts, you know I’ve been hurting at catcher. This year I made acquiring a strong presence behind the plate a top priority, and I think I did alright with a deal I finalized last night.

Now catching for my fantasy Reds…
2007toppsmartinez

…Victor Martinez. The hope is that the injuries that sapped his power last year have fully healed and he returns to that .300/20/90 ways that make him a top 5 catcher. Sure, there are concerns he’ll be moved from behind the plate in a year or two, but I’ve got a bit of time to work on that.

I also got a new second baseman:
2008udjlopez

Lopez is projected to hit around .280 this year, hit double digit HRs, and even steal a few bases, which is good, because he’s going to replace the guy I traded away:

phillipsheritage

I wasn’t really happy about dealing Phillips, but I thought this deal was too good to pass up. I ‘m afraid Brandon’s going to struggle a bit more this year trying to bat clean up with such a young team around him, and his #4 spot in the batting order could limit his steal potential, too. If it does, the drop from Phillips to Lopez speed wise won’t be as bad as I think.

Next step, improving my shortstop. Hopefully I have some good news, soon.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

