Red Turkey Red

2 04 2009

2009toppsturkeyredvotto

So as I email back and forth with the seller to resolve the damaged card issue (it sounds like it’s going nowhere, btw), I thought I’d show off a few of them.  I only had time to scan one on the way out the door to work, but that’s okay.  Joey Votto deserves a post of his own.  Some would even argue he deserves his own blog.

I’ll admit I post about this guy often, but he’s my favorite current Red especially now that Corey Patterson is gone.  And look how majestic he is, hitting rocks out in shallow left field at cars in the parking lot.  It’s a yearly initiation to all new Reds.  Ramon Hernandez is going to be pissed.

Of course I’m kidding.  Votto, from what I understand, is a pretty laid back fella who’s more likely to be the victim of a prank than the perpetrator.  He’s just a good Canadian boy who likes to play baseball.  Hit 20 HRs.  Maybe steal a few bases while he’s at it.  And hit for average, too. 

If Yonder Alonso is the hitter everyone says he is, though, Votto’s going to have to start practicing his LF, because everything I’ve read says Alonso’s all or nothing at 1B.  Maybe that’s why Topps has him standing there on the card.  He just brought his bat instead of his glove.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

