Really? (A discussion question)

7 04 2009

Of course people make things up on their eBay auctions to try and sell their wares.  I get that.  The worst is the folks who say “sharp corners” when you can see in the scan that they aren’t, but that’s another post that I’ve thought about a number of times and shelved.  Maybe one day.

Anyhow, I ran across this claim while searching tonight:

This auction is for one GORGEOUS 1979 Topps Ozzie Smith #116.

When looking over the most coveted, most significant cards of the post-war era, the 1979 Ozzie has got to be the top ten.

“…has got to be in the top ten?” Really? Just curious if anyone wants to defend this claim. I can think of six off the top of my head (52 Mantle, and RCs of Rose, Ryan, Clemente, Yaz, Seaver) that would certainly best this one.  Brett and Yount Rookies.  Mike Schmidt.  Reggie Jackson.  There’s ten, I think.  Those are in no particular order, by the way.

Obiviously I’m not a believer.  Unless he meant post-Vietnam war era.  Then he’s probably right.

Subquestion: Which rookie card ranks higher on that list of post war must haves – the Wizard of Oz, or the ’89 Upper Deck Griffey?

Actions

Information

5 responses

7 04 2009
owlatnight

It’s certainly not in the top 10.

I believe the Griffey is more valued, especially among younger collectors (below age 30-35). But I’d prefer the Ozzie.

7 04 2009
madding

There is no way Ozzie’s rookie card is in the top 10, and he’s pretty much my favorite player of all-time.

That being said, I don’t think that the Griffey card is as much of a must-have, though. It’s iconic for the era that it came from, but I don’t think it really withstands the test of time as much as Ozzie’s card, or other star rookie cards from the late ’70s/early ’80s. I think Rickey Henderson’s rookie is more important for similar reasons.

7 04 2009
Paul

I’m not sure Ozzie’s rookie makes the top 10 of post-Vietnam War cards, though I’ve never tried to make that list. Still, I wouldn’t mind having one.

And yes, Griffey’s Upper Deck rookie ranks higher. He’s a home run hitter where Ozzie wasn’t, and the UD card is iconic of the era.

7 04 2009
MMayes

It’s in the Top 10 all right. Heck, that 1979 Ozzie Smith is a Top 3 card. You just have to narrow it down to the “Top 10 must have cards of the post-war era in St. Louis, Missouri of players that have made the Hall of Fame and were traded for somebody that gave the finger to fans in Busch Stadium”

7 04 2009
Brian

I was never a big fan of Ozzie… but’s for another post. The Griffey is more important. Not for who the better player was, but for what that card did for the hobby in general.
That one card changed the hobby forever, ushering in a new age, leaving the old, simple one behind.

Leave a Reply

