Long Hit?

24 04 2009

In a recent fit of spare time, I managed another eBay win of 1979 Topps cards.  I believe this lot pushed me over the halfway mark to completion, and I should have a nice lot or two to sell on eBay when all is said and done.

1979toppsfrednorman_00012

I’ll have to figure out why my scanner skews pictures so much.

Anyway, Fred is one of the first Reds I’ve gotten in a 1979 Topps lot that doesn’t have bent up corners.  I’m pretty sure it’s just because I want the Reds cards to all be nice, being a Reds fan, but I also know I have about 4 Tom Hume cards with bad corners and I don’t think I have a nice one for my set.

Fred was a pretty good pitcher for the Reds in the seventies, and I hate to shaft him, but I’m more curious about the back of Fred’s card.

1979toppsfrednorman_0002

Over there, under the “Baseball Dates” heading (which could have been a gossip column about who baseball players date, right?).  It says that on September 5th, 1921, Cleveland’s Earl Smith got his 7th consecutive Long Hit of the season.

Long Hit?  Am I the only one who’s never heard of this?  And is it really a proper noun in need of capitalization?

I’m assuming a “Long Hit” is an extra base hit, but I can’t seem to find reference to Earl Smith and 7 consecutive anythings online. I did find reference to Elmer Smith having seven consecutive extra-base hits in 1922, matched later by Earl Sheely of the White Sox in 1926, which could mean an error or typo on Topps’ part.  But I’m convinced that my Google’s on the fritz and that there’s a better explanation for this.

Anyone?

*UPDATE*  It’s gotta be Elmer Smith.  I’ve found two Earl Smiths that played in 1921, and neither played for Cleveland.

Actions

Information

One response

29 04 2009
Dinged Corners

The cheeks. The eyebrows. The hair. What a great character.

Leave a Reply

