Surprises and otherwise from Round 1 of the NHL playoffs

29 04 2009

Since my daughter was born, playoff hockey has begun and the first round ended this evening.  Last year I made predictions and was just awful, so I’m not upset that I missed out on the chance this year, even though I would have done pretty well.  Still, there were a few surprises and a few not so surprises that took place.

Surprise! The Rangers almost beat the Captials.

In the end, Lundqvist wasn’t the star he needed to be, and the lack of offense plagued the Rangers in the final three games and allowed the Capitals to win the series 4-3.  I’ll admit I was psyched after the Rangers went up 3-1 and hoped for a few lucky bounces to close the series out in their favor, but I still would have put down money on the Caps making it to the second round.  And they did.

Not so surprised – The Canadiens got swept, the Blue Jackets got swept, and the Blues got swept.

Montreal could not overcome either injuries or the better team.  As a former resident of Columbus, I’m happy the Blue Jackets made it, but it was obvious they’d be over powered.  And the Blues?  I was surprised they made it at all.  The Canucks are just a better team.

Surprise!  The Flames won two games from the Blackhawks.

I would have given them one at most, but they certainly played harder than I thought they would.  It’s all up to the Canucks to make Canada proud.

Not so surprised -The Ducks beat the Sharks 4-2.

Yeah, I know the Sharks were the best team in the regular season again, but they just suck at playoff hockey.  And the Ducks were one of the hottest teams going into the playoffs and it hasn’t worn off yet.  Hiller is the perfect example of a hot goalie winning a series.  He’ll have his catching glove full in the second round with the Wings, though

Moderately surprised – The Flyers held their own for as long as they did.

I would have loved to see the Penguins lose.  I’m tired of Sidney Crosby.  And now they’ll hype the Ovechkin/Crosby matchup.  I guess it’s good for the league, though, so I shouldn’t complain.  Watch all these games that you can, just do it with the volume down.

Surprise!  The Huricanes beat the Devils.

I forgot all about this one.  As a Ranger fan, I take solace in the fact the Devils are playing golf now, too.  And to lose by letting the other team score two goals in the final 1:20 in game 7.  Yikes!

And finally, I’m not surprised that once again NHL.com is awesome in it’s coverage, with series blogs and the addition of “the situation room” which explains stoppages of play and the reasoning behind the rulings that occur during the game.  Just awesome.

Now on to round 2…

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 04 2009
Dave

I absolutely loved the Hurricanes vs. Devils series. One of the best playoff series that I’ve seen, and I got to attend two games in person. Congrats on the birth of your daughter by the way – I didn’t know about that.

2 05 2009
tribecards

Let’s Go PENS!! 🙂

2 05 2009
Jeff

I just hate Ovechkin and the Capitals.

Leave a Reply

