08-09 Be A Player signatures

9 07 2009

Mario from a popular blog you may have heard of before worked out a trade for some hockey cards a few months ago.  I told Mario at the time that I was in no hurry to get the cards, but he still felt bad and sent me a handful of 2008/09 Be A Player Autographs to apologize.  Apology accepted, good sir.  But you still didn’t have to do it.

08-09BAPMalhotra

For those unfamiliar, Be A Player started back in the mid 90’s and was one of the first (if not the first) releases that promised a signature in every pack.  The initial release was a joint venture with Upper Deck and the NHLPA, but wasn’t licensed by the NHL.  It was awarded worst set ever over at Get High on Hockey.  Throughout the years, different companies have taken up the  Be A Player mantle, but in 2005/06 Upper Deck took the reins once more.

One of the cooler things about the one per pack autos back in the 90’s is that they were numbered the same as the set.  So if you wanted to collect all the auto parallels (as I once started to do in 1999), it was pretty straight forward.  Upper Deck’s changed that, though.

08-09BAPBurish

Now, I wasn’t going to collect this set anyway, and certainly not the parallel version.  But if I had any inkling to do so, Upper Deck’s numbering decision would totally turn me off.  You can see there they went from using the same numbers as the base card to using a players initials.  Anytime I have to do research just to put together a wantlist, well, it’s going to be a big turn off.  Just another bad decision on Upper Deck’s part, if you ask me.

08-09BAPFleury

As for the design itself, well, it’s alright I guess.  I’m not a huge fan of it overall, and all the cards Mario sent were sticker autos.  I’m pretty certain the 99/00’s I have were all hard signed, but that’s where we are in the hobby today.  I don’t have an autographed card of Marc-Andre Fleury, I have a signed sticker of Marc-Andre Fleury that Upper Deck stuck on a card for me.  Once I think about it like that, it really takes some of the fun out of it.

08-09BAPJerseyVoracek

Finally, he threw in this Voracek jersey card from the most cherished of hockey’s historic moments, the rookie jersey shoot.  Voracek didn’t shine as many thought he would this year, but did show some glimmers that will help him maintain his promising status going into next year.  The Blue Jackets have always been a secondary favorite of a team, so this card was a very welcome addition to my collection.

Thanks again, Mario.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 07 2009
Mario A.

Scott, I’ll get even more out to you soon.

Thanks for your patience.

9 07 2009
handcollated

Mario –

As I said, no worries, man. I’ve got plenty to do with the two kids I’ve got already…

Leave a Reply

