Look what came in the mail…

14 07 2009

It’s another package from Night Owl!  Hooray!

I’m reallly looking forward to a post or two that may be coming up over at his blog sometime soon.  I’m sure he’ll know what I’m talking about, since I already told him it was coming, and I know he won’t disappoint.  It’s sure to be teh awesome.

And speaking of teh awesome, Night Owl sent me a few new candidates for best card of 2009.  First off, this Omar Vizquel from 2009 Upper Deck.

2009UDVizquel

Byrnes is totally beating the throw.  No way he’s out unless he overslides the bag.  And am I the only one surprised that the Giants are leading the wild card hunt so far this year?  I don’t think I am.

2009UDDukes

Did you know the Nationals hired a “Special Assistant: Player Concerns” to follow Dukes around and keep him out of trouble?  Me either.  I guess it’s worked pretty well so far, because I haven’t heard much about his off field antics since he knocked up that 17 year old foster child.  Dukes is currently hitting the cover off the ball in AAA.

I think these next three were tabbed for a mailbox in Georgia and just got put in the wrong package:

2009ToppsSmaddones

Check out that Maddux card in the center there.  It’s quite a beauty.  dayf, if you are reading this and need the Smoltz, let me know.  I think I have another one coming in the mail.

Finally, Night Owl caps the awesome with

1989ToppsUKminiDavis

a 1989 Eric Davis mini that I’ve never seen before!  I believe this is UK only release, which means Night Owl must have crossed the Atlantic to find it.  Thanks, Night Owl!

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 07 2009
night owl

Yeah, I know what’s coming. The handyman was over the house today to widen the entrance so it’ll fit inside.

What have I gotten myself into?

17 07 2009
dayf

I’m pretty sure I have Smoltzie, but thanks for the offer. I’ll be looking for those three off your ’90 Topps list.

One thing: if you can somehow find an extra Tommy Hanson Red Hot card somewhere I will be forever in your debt.

Leave a Reply

