Dear Topps,

17 07 2009

Thanks for taking a fun variation that people were looking forward to within the hobby and screwing it all up.

Sincerely,
Hand Collated

P.S. In a way, I’m kind of glad you went and made the dark and retro parallels only 2 packs per blaster box. That way I won’t feel the urge to spend lots of money on these things and can instead save up for other family related things. I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s going to not spend money on this new found idiocy, either.

Thanks for helping me find the positive Topps.  I’ll enjoy my money more without sending it to you.

P.P.S.  I’m writing this with only three hours sleep in the last 27 hours.  Here’s hoping it makes sense.

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 07 2009
Chris

Couldn’t agree more. The good news is it will save A LOT of us a lot of money. Who can seriously complete either variation set with only 12 variation cards for 20 bucks a blaster? No one, that’s who.

17 07 2009
Chris

I sent Topps an email (and I think Grand Cards did as well) and will keep everyone updated if/when Topps replies.

20 07 2009
Chris

Topps responded – and yep, they only plan to release blasters with 2 parallel packs in ’em for Series 2. I’ve already scratched my plans to complete the parallel sets for Series 2 and removed ’em from my want lists. That’s simply crazy to even attempt at this point.

9 11 2009
Greg A.

I did the same thing when I first heard that was how they were distributing series 2 blacks.
That makes the third product I’ve boycotted for lame distribution methods, and the second from 09 Topps.
The others were the Topps base set variations (that are super short printed already and then bunches of them are piled into single blasters) and the 08/09 O-Pee-Chee hockey Update set that was sold in packs of five cards, two of which are the Metal (Chrome) parallels and another retro parallel card. Two actual cards per pack! Forget it.

Leave a Reply

