2009 Topps Legends win, trade bait

18 07 2009

Well, somewhat of a win.  I picked up a 20 card lot on eBay thinking it would take a big chunk out of my wantlists.  Turns out I only needed 8 of them, including one I didn’t even know was in the set.

2009ToppsLotGPalmer

Wikipedia says Jim Palmer’s nickname is “Cakes.”  I’ve never heard that before.  Apparently it’s because he loves to eat pancakes.  Awesome.  He’s the only pitcher to win a World Series game in three different decades, and even more impressive is that he never gave up a grand slam.  Ever.  That’s over 550 games and almost 4000 innings.

2009ToppsLotGCampanella

I don’t have much to say about this one, but it’s a nice looking card of Campy.  Same picture as his Career Best Legends card, though, which is a bit of a disappointment.  I hope Topps has some new images for next year when they pump these CMG guys out once again.

Now, since I only needed 8 of these guys, I’ve got 12 extra for trade, plus a few I’ve pulled from packs here and there.  So if you are putting together the Legends of the Game set, I’ve got these for trade:

LG2 Honus Wagner x2
LG10 Jimmie Foxx
LG11 Lou Gehrig
LG18 Roger Maris
LG19 Bob Gibson
LG25 Cal Ripken Jr.
LG-FT Frank Thomas
LG-JS John Smoltz
LG-MS Mike Schmidt
LG-PM Paul Molitor
LG-RS Ryne Sandberg
LG-TG Tony Gwynn
LG-Th Trevor Hoffman
LG-VG Vladimir Guerrero
LG-WB Wade Boggs

If you need any of these, send me an email and we’ll work something out. I’m currently 13 cards short of completing both series, so if you’ve got extras take a look at my wantlist when you get a chance.

Also, can someone explain why the Braves get four freakin’ guys in this set (Smoltz, Glavine, Chipper, and Maddux) while the Reds get bupkis (Rose, Morgan, Bench, Larkin, Foster, Davis, Kluszewski)? Even Frank Robinson shows up as an Oriole even though he played close to half his 21 year career in Cincinnati and spent only 7 in Baltimore. What kind of anti-Cincinnati bias does Topps have?

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 07 2009
Captain Canuck

simple.

Braves rule!

20 07 2009
wickedortega

i got a couple of those if you need them send me an email and we’ll work something out…

Leave a Reply

