Guest post from my son

26 07 2009

(NOTE:  This actually occurred in June during my new daughter induced sabbatical, and I just rediscovered it in my “posts to edit file.”)

I’ve mentioned before my box of beater cards.  These were the cards my brother and father gave me to play when I was 5 years old so I wouldn’t damage any of the nicer cards they would sort.  It’s probably why I’m so meticulous when it comes to condition today.

The cards remain in the same blue and white striped shoebox they were in when I was a boy, and after years of travels, I’ve finally found a good use for them other them nostalgia.  My son is now at an age where he wants to do what his father is doing, and that includes sports cards.  My son is now the proud owner of that blue and white shoebox.

Up until a few days ago, his interest in cards was always predicated on mine.  If he wondered in while I sorted cards, he would ask me to get his down.  Of course I’d oblige.  But early one morning he wondered into the den and asked to see his cards all by himself.  Smiling, I pulled the box down and he began his usual routine of taking them out, stacking them up, and then knocking them over. 

Then he pulled out this card…

1978ToppsLacy

…and said to me, “This guy hits every day.”

Lacy did not hit every day, let alone play every day for most of his career.  It wasn’t until 1984, 12 years after his debut, that Lee found regular playing time, and that lasted for three years.   That doesn’t mean that he couldn’t hit, though.  Lacy was a utility man and pinch hitter for most of his career and he currently holds the record for most consecutive pinch hit home runs with 3.  His skills landed him on four World Series teams, including the World Champ Pirates in 1979.

Editing this now from the present, my son hasn’t asked to see his box of cards again.  And that’s okay.  Like Lacy, I don’t expect him to do it every day.  It may very well take him 12 years to become a hobbyist, or he may never take to it.  I’m okay with whatever.  I’m just happy to have a new memory and a new favorite player in Lee Lacy

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

