So I got me some of them ’89 Upper Deck cards

3 08 2009

One of the tougher aspects of blogging without time is that you sometimes plan out a post, upload images, and get ready to talk about the cards and then find yourself forced to be doing something else instead. Then a week later you stumble back on the images and wonder what you were going to talk about in the first place.

For example, I’ve got some 1989 Upper Deck cards that I’ve scanned and added to a post, but have no idea why I chose some of the ones I did. I know the overall idea was to celebrate the fact that my 89 Upper Deck wantlists have gone from “inquire” (meaning I needed a heckuva lot) to an actual list. That’s gotta make things easier on you generous folks, right? And if you are working on your set, then maybe we could, you know, trade or something.

Here’s a few of my more recent acquisitions in the quest for 89 Upper Deck:

1989UDClemens

So young.  So small.  He really seemed to bulk up in the later years, didn’t he?

1989UDEvans

I like the look on Darrell’s face here.  One of quiet emotion.  One of a man who went from leading the league in home runs in 1985 to struggling to top .200 and prove he still deserves a chance to play in 1988.  One who’s just been told his only option for baseball in 1989 was the then lowly Atlanta Braves.

1989UDKipper

Why did I scan “the Kip?”  I have no earthly idea.  Seems like a waste not to include it now.

1989UDHenderson

This obviously would give me reason to mention Rickey’s HOF speech.  Instead I’ll mention how jealous of my brother I was back in the 80′s when he had a Rickey rookie and I didn’t.  And when I think 1981 Topps, his card is the first image that springs to mind.  That was a great looking card.

1989UDMurphy

If you don’t have a Dale Murphy reverse negative card, you can write a letter to Richard McWilliam and he may print one up for you.  And if you haven’t read the book Card Sharks, you probably should.  The chapter on Bob Eubanks is classic.

1989UDYountson

Two cards that show players at the height of exertion.  I had no idea Yount was so ripped.  Yount is also the answer to the trivia question “Who is the first player elected to the hall in a Brewer’s uniform?”  If you win a free drink with that, poor a little out for me.

1989UDMercado

And finally, one of my favorites of the whole set, Orlando Mercado.  A man so busy playing 18 games in 1988 that Upper Deck only had one shot to capture his image on film, so they had two photographers snap two different angle shots of him at the same time.  Or perhaps they got a wax statue of the guy instead.  Wikipedia says Mercado, “became a local star for his play in the Portland Beavers Triple-A franchise in the late 1980s,”  but doesn’t back that claim up.  Anyone know why?

So there you have a few too many ’89 Upper Deck cards.  If you need a few more, send me your wantlists and I’ll be happy to look.

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 08 2009
Sharpe

I remember at the time this set was released I didn’t have the allowance cash to spend on those packs. Now I wish I had spent it on that instead of the mountain of ’89 Topps I purchased instead.

How did you end up deciding to collect this set? It’s crossed my mind a few times.

15 08 2009
handcollated

What process did I use? Mostly trading none 1989 Upper Deck stuff away. My brother as a birthday gift bought me a picked through Upper Deck set which I supplemented with a lot off eBay. Most of what I need now are the rookies. I’ll let you know how it goes.

22 08 2009
Dean Hanley

This is a great set to collect. Very Affordable and a true classic. It is fun to look at this set vs. the others of that year and see where they really blew the other cards out of the water. I enjoy reading your blogs. Great Read.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.