Returning to the past

10 09 2009

So I went dark for a while.  It’s going to happen.  I’m honestly surprised the first run lasted as long as it did because I could feel myself getting burned out.  Not with the blogging part, but with the hobby itself.  And when you aren’t all that ramped up about your topic, it’s awfully hard to write.

Sure, I could have pushed through it, but it was probably best I just stopped for a while for a number of reasons.  And I’d look for posts to continue at a more irregular pace for quite a while.  Until then, how about some cards?

2009ToppsTRMize

Ah, what might have been.  In December of 1934, The Cincinnati Reds purchased Mize from the Cardinals where he was blocked by Ripper Collins.  In April of 1935, the Reds sent him back to St. Louis after he failed a physical.  Mize recovers and goes on to lead the league in home runs 4 times and hit over .300 for his career.

2009ToppsZambranoTR

Quite possibly the most boring of the Turkey Reds this year.  I know he’s a good pitcher and all, but I wouldn’t be upset if I never pulled another Carlos card again.  There’s just something about the guy that rubs me the wrong way.  Maybe it’s because I’m good friends with a Gatorade cooler.

That’s what I got for now.  Time permitting, I’ll get back to the wantlists soon.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 09 2009
White Sox Cards

With the perspective on the Zambrano card, it looks like he’s getting ready to bowl.

10 09 2009
Hackenbush

Maybe I’m wrong but Zambrano seems to be less and less a team man and more and more a Carlos Zambrano man. This is in contrast to the rest of the starting staff particularly Dempster, Lilly and Wells.

22 09 2009
Sharpe

Is Big Z a self-proclaimed nickname? I always thought it was. And even outside of my Brewer-love/Cub-hate stance on the world, I still dislike him. There’s a lot to hate.

Leave a Reply

