A pocket of ’83 Topps (Spring cleaning for spring training, Pt 2)

2 03 2010

I realize now I missed out on a clever post name for yesterday’s discovered cards, so I’m using it here instead and calling this post part two.

These must have come in a trade from someone, because it’s too much of a coincidence for me to have all these ’83 Topps cards that I just happen to need all sandwiched in between some damaged 2007 Topps cards and a hunk of 2008 Upper Deck.  Unless the combination of 2007 Topps and 2008 Upper Deck in a dark environment like the bottom of my closet produces 1983 Topps. On second thought, maybe I should put these back.

Holy Henderson Record Breaker!  I had thoughts of removing the blurb and having you guess at the record, but everyone knows it was for most third person references to oneself in a three-minute interview.  Oh, and he stole a lot of bases.  He actually set two records in 1982, one for most steals (130) and most caught stealings (42).  He still claims he could suit up and play, and I wish the Reds had thought to call on him instead of signing Corey Patterson in 2008 and Willy Taveras in 2009.  This year Reds’ fans are hopeful that Drew Stubbs can put this need to rest.

I don’t dislike a whole lot of horizontal cards, but I wasn’t a big fan of the Super Veterans subset, especially when it featured a guy like Kent Tekulve.  I also found a Schmidt Super Vet that I needed, but you’ll get Kent and like it.  I do like that they tried to sepia out the old pictures to make you think these guys had been playing since 1924.  Too bad it looks really ugly on the card.

100 complete games, 390 saves, and still the first thing that comes to mind when you see Eck is that Kirk Gibson home run, right?

Here’s a guy you probably just don’t think about.  Rob drew 25 walks in his 1628 career at bats.  That’s Willy Taveras bad.

I’ve always liked Jim Kaat and can see arguments on both sides when it comes to whether he’s a hall of famer.   He’s a true Super Veteran (and has a card in the subset) for having a career spanning four decades.  He would retire at the end of the ’83season, being the last player that played in the 50’s and who played for the original Washington Senators to leave baseball.  I actually found two of these, so if you need one, let me know.

Even after this impressive haul, I’m still three All Stars, two Super Vets, one Harold Baines and one Tony Gwynn rookie card from completion.

Just two more boxes to sort, and then the trading can begin.

Actions

Information

One response

3 03 2010
Ted

Seeing Eckersley also reminds me of this:

In the tenth, the Reds broke through to win the game off A’s closer Dennis Eckersley. Utilityman Billy Bates chopped an infield single off home plate to start the inning. Chris Sabo singled to left to put runners on first and second. Then Oliver hit a bouncer that hopped over third base and down the line to drive in Bates with the winning run.

1990 World Series, Game 2.

Leave a Reply

