Gimmicks that got you

26 03 2010

So while we are immersed in the 2nd round of worst gimmick ever, I was curious if anyone got sucked in by any of the gimmicks we are currently celebrating or some of the ones we may have missed. 

Did you purchase 2007 Topps U&H like a squirrel trying to find a nut in hopes of landing a Poley Walnuts?  How about buying 2008 Upper Deck like a bandit to find a Hillary Clinton/Morgana card?  Have you elected to pursue 2010 Topps to find the Lincoln variations? 

It’s okay.  We all get sucked in sometimes.  I confess to chasing the 2009 Topps dark variations from Wal-Mart, at least for Series 1 (I’m still trying to finish it off, by the way).  I actually pulled (and still have) the gold parallel Jeter/Bush/Mantle that I was too lazy to sell on eBay at peak value.  I was excited to pull that 1990 Donruss Juan Gonzalez reverse negative 20 years ago.  And who wouldn’t want a 33 Goudey Lajoie? 

Com’n, you want to fess up and admit to owning a complete run of Sportsflics sets in your basement, right?  You bought Skybox cards because you wanted to learn how to rap, didn’t you.  It’s okay, admit it. We’re your friends. 

And while you’re at it, don’t forget to vote in round 2 of the Berger, Beckett, Olbermann and Burdick regionals.

Actions

Information

6 responses

27 03 2010
Offy

I love oddball sets, but not gimmicks. I’ve got a ton of Sportflics, Action Packed, Upper Deck Fun Packs, UD 3-D Basketball, etc.

27 03 2010
Paul

I got sucked in by the errors in 1990 Donruss, the gold cards in 1992 Topps, and the first day production cards in 1993 Stadium Club.

You’d think I would have learned my lesson, but I started chasing after the Target throwback cards in last year’s Topps set. At least I was smart enough to give up once they changed the distribution for series two.

27 03 2010
--David

Mine were the Flyball cards that were used with the FLY pen system. I have nearly the whole set of 200 cards, but got tired of buying a gazillion packs just pull doubles. I’m not even sure I have those anymore. I probably gave them away.

27 03 2010
RoofGod

I got sucked in by the Jeter/Bush/Mantle card of 2007. It actually was a good thing because it brought me back into collecting, so in a weird way it was a good gimmick for Topps, because it brought at least one collector back into the fold which I believe was one of their main reasons for creating these gimmicks in the first place.

28 03 2010
Rhubarb_Runner

I know the UD Documentary set is stupid, but I enjoy trading for the Twins game cards. I wouldn’t purchase more than the 2-3 packs I originally bought, though.

31 03 2010
The gimmick that turned you off « Hand Collated

[…] gimmick that turned you off 31 03 2010 Earlier there was discussion of “gimmicks that got you,” so I thought I’d ask the opposite question now.  Is there a gimmick that turned you […]

Leave a Reply

