The gimmick that turned you off

31 03 2010

Earlier there was discussion of “gimmicks that got you,” so I thought I’d ask the opposite question now.  Is there a gimmick that turned you off from a product, or even a company?  I recall both Stale Gun and Card Junk boycotting Topps for various shenanigans, but was there a set or point where you called, “Enough!” and stopped buying or avoided altogether a certain release?

I know I’ve avoided most 2010 Topps Series 1 packs and failed to purchase my first hobby or jumbo box of the stuff in three years once all the Abraham Lincoln’s were announced, opting to buy a lot of them off eBay and go trading for the rest.  I also try to stay away from manupatches (with the exception of base Topps), so sets like Finest get avoided because of it.  And as a hockey collector, the fact the Upper Deck serial numbers all the rookies as part of the set makes sure that I only buy the Series 1 and 2 releases and little more.

So, what about you?  Anything you avoided specifically to get away from the gimmicks?

While you are thinking, take some time to vote in the inagural Tournament of Gimmicks, too.  You’ll be a part of history, after all.  It’s sweet sixteen time, meaning two match ups in each regional, and voting can be done at the following links:

Berger region

Burdick region

Olbermann region

Beckett region

Voting closes at midnight tonight, so do it now before you regret not doing it later.

Actions

Information

3 responses

31 03 2010
jswaykos

Hmmm… I can’t think of anything off the top of my head. I was intrigued by Icons when it first came out, that is until I learned two of the ‘hits’ were manu patches.

31 03 2010
Offy

Numbered rookies kept me away from basketball boxes. Once they started doing that, every box was just a bunch of veterans and maybe 2 or 3 numbered rookies. If you don’t get the right ones, your box is a huge bust. I’d much rather buy boxes of base Topps, get every rookie and not have them be “worth” anything.

1 04 2010
EdS

I know its not entirely the same, but the over abundance of short prints in Heritage has kept me from chasing that set this time around.

Leave a Reply

