Opening Day thoughts

6 04 2010

Two weeks ago, my wife and I had to schedule a doctor’s appointment for my daughter.  Without thinking, I agreed that April 5th would be the day to do it.  A few days later, we added my son to the list.  Nothing more than routine checkups, and a round of shots for the girl.

Yesterday, I remembered that today was opening day.

Normally I can spend opening day sitting on the couch and watching baseball.  Since the Reds aren’t from New York or Boston, it’s one of the only chances I get to see them play on TV.  This year, however, when the opening pitch was thrown, I was sitting in a doctor’s office reading Monsters, Inc. to my son and watching my daughter play with some toys.  When Joey Votto and Scott Rolen went back-to-back, I think  we were sitting outside a different doctor’s office while my daughter had blood drawn.  Just some routine tests.  No need to worry.

Now, I may sound like I’m complaining here, but I’m not.  There are two things that made this opening days one of the best in a long time.  Sure, the Reds lost again.  And sure, I didn’t see most of it.  But the inning or two that I did see, I got to watch with my son.  And this time around, he didn’t ask to watch Max and Ruby once.  And he asked me questions about what was going on.

And he cheered on Jay Bruce.

Sure, it was after he had already struck out.  But I don’t expect him to get it all the first time.

The other thing that makes this opening day so special is that it happens to fall on my daughter’s first birthday.  So while I may have missed Shane Marcum’s no hit bid or the defensive wizardry of Mark Buehrle, for the last twelve months I’ve got to watch in amazement at how much my daughter has grown.  And tonight, I watched her opening day battle with ice cream, which I’m happy to say she won.

Now the kids are in bed and opening day is almost over.  I’ve seen a total of three innings of baseball today.

And it’s still without a doubt the best opening day ever.

Actions

Information

One response

6 04 2010
Jim

And that’s what it’s all about. Great post.

Leave a Reply

