Two in a row

10 04 2010

The only thing better than a Reds victory is a loss for the Cubs.  Today is doubly sweet thanks to today’s star of the game:

I have a feeling I’m going to need to invest in more Drew Stubbs cards before the season is over.  The Reds offensive juggernaut managed just three hits off career batting practice pitcher Carlos Silva and five hits total for the game, but to be fair, the Reds only got twenty-four outs in tonight’s game and not the usual twenty-seven.

Star of the Game Stubbs was responsible for two of those hits, or 40% of the offense for the team and 64% of the total bases.  He led off the first with a triple and scored on Orlando Cabrera’s sacrifice fly.  Then in the eighth, Stubbs gave the Reds bullpen and extra baseball to use for warm ups by hitting his first career grand slam.  One shaky ninth inning from Francisco Cordero, and Cubs smiles turn to tears.  Reds win 5-4.

And I swear I am not making this up:  as we sat down to dinner tonight, the Reds were trailing 3-1.  My son, again tonight, brought out the “Go Drew Stubbs” cheer at dinner, and the next time I look, he had hit his HR.  Clearly my son is partially responsible for tonight’s victory, and for that, an honorary star for him.

Actions

Information

One response

10 04 2010
Jonathan

Stubbsie is quickly becoming one of my favorites. He’s just got those intangible qualities that Reds fans seem to appreciate. And apparently, a flair for the dramatic, too.

After spending eight innings cursing out Homer Bailey (that’s right, I was grumbling about him for three innings that he wasn’t even in the game – it helped that Micah Owings was showing what a *good* pitcher can do) and even posting about Homer in my blog, it was nice to have that bottom of the 8th. I don’t know the next time I’ll get to see the Reds on TV here in Australia so this was a good memory to last me a couple of months…

Leave a Reply

