Finally better than the Cubs (again)

12 04 2010

I thought about doing one of these for the Reds loss two days ago, but then I would have had to celebrate a Cub, and that just didn’t feel right.  Thankfully, the Reds did the right thing yesterday and won 3-1 with another late inning rally.  This time no walk off of home runs, but a bases loaded walk and a sacrifice fly.  It’s tough to pick a player of the game for yesterday, but since I’m forcing myself I’ll go with this guy:

I don’t own any Mike Leake cards, so I borrowed that one from eBay. I’ll be happy to accept your offerings for future games where Leake is star of the game, though.

Leake wasn’t brilliant, walking seven batters in 6 2/3 innings of work, but he pitched himself out of jams and handled the pressure well. Other than the walks, his line was brilliant, especially for a guy making his debut without a single minor league inning of work. He allowed one run, struck out five, and gave up only four hits. Of the seven walks, Leake later said, “I’ve never issued that many walks, ever. I was pulling the ball today, mainly fastballs, just trying to overthrow. I should’ve got the ball from my seventh walk [as a souvenir].”

And in another dismal offensive outing for the Reds as a team, Leake was one of the bright spots, going 2-2 at the plate and accounting for 2/3 of the Reds hits when he left the game.

So it’s back to .500 for Cincinnati and they move to one game behind the Cardinals and one game out of the wild card spot, too.  And no, it’s never to early to look at the wild card spot, especially when it’s your teams best home at the post season.  They’ll try to keep the winning going in Florida tonight.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

