Random packs, pt 1

19 04 2010

I’ve gotten a handful of random packs from random places over the course of the last few days.  All have arrived as gifts. It’s the first wax I’ve had to open in months.

I think I’ve mentioned before that my discretionary spending has been severely hampered by two growing children. They need things like beds and food, and my wife seems to think that those needs should be met before my needs for pieces of cardboard featuring men playing games for a living. Since I’m not a terribly selfish guy, I demur to her and my daughter, for example, gets a car seat while I get nothing but the knowledge that she’s safe while in the car. Okay, maybe I get something out of it after all.

Joking aside, beggars cannot be choosers, and you’ll see what I mean when I reveal the first card from the first pack of that  I’ve opened in a while.

2008 Upper Deck X. It’s almost like the Boone’s wine of baseball packs, and I feel that’s a bit insulting to the times I sat on Strawberry Hill and tried not to get sick off it’s cheaply priced and over-sweet nectar.  I won’t bore you with the rest of the base cards.  Instead, I’ll bore you with some inserts.

Alright, so the inserts aren’t really that boring, and had Upper Deck made these die-cuts the base cards, I think this stuff would have sold a lot better.  I also think that five of these per pack would have been cost prohibitive and set off the gimmick alarm all over the card blogging community as well, so instead you get a rather bland and somewhat purposeless set that probably lost Upper Deck some change.  Perhaps Upper Deck X was the true beginning of the end for the company, made even more confounding by its return in 2009.

These inserts look awesome, and have finally made me realize what Upper Deck may have been trying to do with this thing.  Upper Deck has a successful hockey card set called SPX that look much like these inserts do, only with even more kinetic action (see last year’s version here).  My guess is that Upper Deck hoped to bring something like this to the baseball world, but simply couldn’t afford to go all out.  Instead, we got X, and it returned because of a lack of finances to come up with something better.

This is all speculation, but it’s the only thing that I can come up with that helps this set make sense.

If you are after the 2008 UDX set, this entire six card pack is for trade.  You can choose from base cards 57, 58, 65 and 99, the die cut 65 (it’s a double Pedro!), and X2-BW.  If not, perhaps I’ll stick them in the time capsule along with a forged Yu-Gi-Oh card and some 2010 Upper Deck cards for future companies to use as an educational tool on what not to do.

Actions

Information

One response

19 04 2010
Nachos Grande

Oooh, I remember (or do I?) a few college evenings with Boone’s Farm. To this day I’m not sure how we ever got the stuff down… I guess the cheapness of it helped at the time.

Leave a Reply

