More random packs – 2010 Upper Deck

18 05 2010

I know, I know. I vowed no 2010 Upper Deck releases this year. But I didn’t buy these, I just accepted them as gifts, so that makes opening them okay, right? Right?

I actually was looking forward to opening these up since I had made them into some sort of forbidden fruit.  And I wanted to see if the cards were as boring as other blogs had claimed them to be.


This is actually one of my favorite cards of the year.    I know I’m over-romanticizing this card, but it seems to capture the newfound optimism of Washington Nationals baseball and the impending betterment of the team.   

Desmond looms large as a part of this new day along with guys like Ryan Zimmerman and some pitcher named Strasburg.  I’m not sure this is the year for the Nationals to become contenders, but 2011 or 2010 could be. 

I know one of the reasons I love this card is my son’s insistence on asking me how Chris Dickerson’s doing every day, but I’m okay with that.  He’s finally stopped now that I’ve explained to him that Dickerson’s out 4-6 weeks with a wrist injury, which should come as no surprise to anyone who’s familiar with his history. 

This one’s cheating.  But how can you not like a card of Joltin’ Joe?  I don’t think you can.  I like the Heroes cards more than I thought I would, but I still don’t see myself chasing any of these things down on purpose. 

And that’s it.  The rest of the cards are filled with repetitive action shots of pitchers in their leg kick or batters in their follow through.  Both choices were designed to half obscure logos and attempt to stop the a lawsuit that’s already been resolved and effectively made this the last Upper Deck baseball release for the near future.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

