A loosely organized post

21 05 2010

Occasionally, I get emails that praise my organizational skills. Mostly, they are in awe that I have all my wantlists posted, but to be honest that just gives me the appearance of order. That’s probably the easiest part of collecting, truth be told. Well, right after opening a pack of cards.

Why do I say it’s easy to keep a wantlist when so many are in such awe by the fact that I’ve done it? It’s just a matter of writing down numbers. No more, no less. Whether those numbers are accurate or not, well, that’s another story.

So for those of you who think I’m organized, here’s three cards that I found in my 1989 Upper Deck duplicates box that may change your mind.


Stanley’s a rarity in today’s game, a player who spent his whole career with one team and was the Red Sox save leader until 2009 when Jonathan Papelbon surpassed him.  According to wikipedia, his nickname is “the Steamer.”   I have no idea how he landed that one, but I’m very glad for his sake that he never played for Cleveland.

Why would a ’89 Upper Deck Bob Stanley show a lack of organizational skills?  I needed him for my set, but didn’t pull him out and put him in there.  So Stanley showed as wanted.  Until now.

Jackie Gutierrez is shown here in his only season with Philadelphia and his final season in the big leagues.  In 1988 he was a backup to the .187 hitting Steve Jeltz.  A good sign that you should retire is when you are the backup to a guy who can’t even crack the Mendoza line. 

Same story as the Stanley.  I needed Gutierrez for my set, or so I thought.  Now he’s tucked away niceley between Joe Orsulak and Gerald Perry.  Right where he belongs.


That’s not even a 1989 Upper Deck card, that’s a 1990 Bobby Bo.  I have no idea how that ended up in the ’89 box, especially since I haven’t pulled out a 1990 Upper Deck card in about seven years.  I loved the 1990 Upper Deck set back in the day even though it’s now worthless.  I’m sure I’ve got a number of bippings in me if I chose to do so from the box of these I still have on the shelf. 

And remember, Mets fans, Bonilla’s still getting paid by your team.  In fact, you owe him another $1,193,248.20 on July 1st. 

Finding that card meant, to stay organized, that I would have to file this in with the rest of my 1990 Upper Deck duplicates.  While looking for those, I found an unlabeled box that seemed to be full of Reds cards from different releases of 1990.  I’ll save them for another post.

Tucked away in the back of that box like a cobra waiting to strike was…

a 1977 Topps Dave Parker.  And he had a friend..


…a 1978 Topps Parker that I needed for my set. I have no clue how these cards came into my possession, but I remember a long time ago tucking them in back of the box they were in because I had no other place for them. 

Parker is first and foremost a Pirate and will never be featured in an Always a Red post even though he did spend three years at Riverfront Stadium in the mid 80’s.  Somewhere I have the Dave Parker Reds wristbands to prove it. 

Perhaps the best thing that Parker did for the Reds was getting traded to the A’s at the end of the ’87 season.  That trade brought Jose Rijo and Tim Birtsas to Cincinnati.  While Parker would win a World Series ring in 1989 with Oakland, Rijo and Birtsas would bring the Reds their first World Series title since the Big Red Machine one year later.  Best.  Season.  Ever.

As you can see, those kudos on my organizational skills are shaky at best.  I’d like to think I am getting better.  The ’78 Parker is in with my limited set.  The ’90 Bonilla is at home with the 4 other Bonillas I saw in the box.  And the ’89 Upper Deck cards are now put in their place as well.  The only card I’m not sure what to do with is that ’77 Parker.  I don’t have a box for ’77 duplicates since this would be the only one I have. 

I can always tuck it in the back of another box, I guess.  It’ll give me something to discover again in another ten years.

Actions

Information

One response

21 05 2010
RoofGod

Stanley Steamer is a carpet cleaning company, that would be my guess about the nickname.

Leave a Reply

