A trade with the Troll, pt 1

6 06 2010

While doing some random googling, I stumbled upon this image for a movie called The Troll.  It features a character named Harry Potter (long before the books, mind you) and the acting debut of Elaine from Seinfeld.  Reviews say the movie is so bad, that it’s campy good. 

Finding that reminded me of a recent exchange that I undertook with The Collective Troll, which also turned out pretty well.  He had just been the victim of nogoodniks and their thievery hijinks, and I did my best to help ease his pain by sending him a few Devil Rays that I had that I thought he might want.  I told him at the time that I needed nothing in return, but he insisted that I get something for my troubles and a few weeks later, a package arrived.  It’s full of so much good, I had to split it into two parts.


First, though, it’s the worst card I’ve ever received in a trade, I think.  No offense to Juan Uribe or the Troll for that matter, but this is one frightfully loud card with clashing colors and no redeeming qualities that I can find.  If I were keeping this set in a binder, I’d put this one upside-down just so I wouldn’t have to look at it.  It’s just that bad. 

This card, on the other hand, is a thing of beauty.  Allen & Ginter never seems to disappoint no matter how bored I think I’m going to get of its simplistic design elements.  And this year’s set finally has some mini inserts I actually want to chase, which makes these the boxes I’ve been saving for. 

I was hoping to fill in the holes in my 2009 set before I started chasing the 2010 set, but the deal I had worked out fell through and I’m too much of a realist to expect success with one month to go.  It’s the same feeling that A’s fans must have now that Duchscherer is out for the year and Brett Anderson is back on the DL with a sore elbow – hopeful for success, but realizing it may not come until next year.

Here are two more sets that feel like they’ll take forever to complete.  That dark Longoria card is just awesome, though, and I wonder if the Dark treatment would make that Uribe card above look any better.  It would almost have to. 

The Turkey Red set is a bigger conundrum for me since there’s 50 more of them in the Update & Highlights set that I haven’t begun to address.  I’m pretty sure I’ll add both the base set and the rest of the Turkey Reds to my list of cards to collect once my financial card house is more in order, but it will certainly be a low priority once I get there. 

Troll also sent some regular Reds, like this Candy Sierra card from 1989 Topps.  This is the time when I started getting away from cards and baseball in general, so I don’t recall Candy or any of his sixty-five days in the majors.  The Reds acquired him for a 1988 Bill Gullickson (Donruss, I think), and he made one appearance for them in relief before being demoted to the minors for the rest of his career. 

14.1 innings pitched.  13 strikeouts.  1.26 ERA.  If I gave you those numbers from the 1995 NCLS,  you’d think Glavine, Smoltz, Maddux, or Avery.  But nope, those are Pete Schourek’s numbers for the Cincinnati Reds.  Better than Glavine and Smoltz, anyway.  But even with Petey pitching, the Reds could not hit and could only muster only five runs in the four game sweep to the eventual world champs. 

That’s my first 1995 Pinnacle card, by the way, and if I were to binder these up they’d go face down, too.  Those backs are friggin’ awesome. 


This is also my first Fleer Metal card, and I’m not sure what to make of it.  They aren’t awful, but I wouldn’t spend a lot of time on these either.  That’s Jeff Shaw there, for those who don’t recognize his steely glare and open mouth.  He was quite the closer for the Reds in 1997 and in 1998 the Reds traded him to the Dodgers for Paul Konerko and Dennys Reyes.  Konerko would hit .219 in his audition for the Reds and be traded for Mike Cameron at the end of the season, and he would eventually be part of the package for Ken Griffey, Jr. 

I’ve got nowhere else to go with that.  Really.

Troll also sent some, shall we say, classic cards.  Those will have to wait for part two.

Actions

Information

One response

7 06 2010
Collective Troll

I had never heard of the Troll movie before, gonna have to check that one out. GREAT post! I look forward to trading with you again! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

