First card back

27 12 2010

I haven’t opened much since I last sneaked out the back door on this thing.  It will be a challenge for me to buy as much as I used to, but the time felt right to grab an Update and Highlights blaster off the shelf.  I’ll have more on that later.  I thought I’d open the commemorative fake patch pack first.  I looked at no checklist and had no idea what i should root for.  What to my wondering eyes should appear?

It’s Barry Larkin, from a very good year!

I’m not going to lie – it’s a bit underwhelming, even if it probably the best card for me.  That gray background looks awful, and it’s somewhat reminiscent of a child’s gluing process because the backing is all warped to where the patch is.

And just to clear up any confusion as to what it is…

…wait.  That’s not very clear at all.  Maybe next time Topps can add the word “logo” to the text for the sake of the English language.

And are there really over 130 of these things already?  Good golly, give it a rest.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

