Tenth place: 2007 Fleer Ultra

14 01 2011

So far we’ve had four voices weigh in on what would be the cream of the Fairfield repack crop.  I realize that my posting is inconsistent and you probably want the  hint of pack ten before you make your decision and maybe might possibly get something in return, but after nobody showed up to the mutant hamster races and only one entry in the Madame Curie look-alike contrast (and he was later disqualified), I’m starting to get a little discouraged, people.

So what’s the criteria for scoring?  There is none, really, which should make the winning pack all the easier to pick.  But I did sort all ten of them out shortly after opening them, so i guess the basis will me general fresh from the pack feel.  I’m sure if I went through them all again now,  I’d probably move some packs around here and there, and I swear I thought something different was here in pack ten’s spot.  So with some surprise, I bring you the tenth best pack of the bunch, 2007 Fleer Ultra.

Alright, a middling middle infielder that’s now playing in Japan!  What a way to start!  My first thought after flipping through these was that a release like 2007 Fleer Ultra is what was wrong (and still is, to a degree) with the industry.  Judging by my own pack alone, the whole reason for the set seemed to be to make more money.  And yes, I realize that’s the reason for every release, but this may as well be Upper Deck base based on design and feel.  It’s just boring.

Alright, a fragile and possibly medically retired pitcher!

Did I mention that I really despise the player’s name in cursive, by the way?  I didn’t even notice the player name/team/position line underneath it until I looked at these cards again almost 24 hours later because of it.  No alibi.  It’s ugly

The now closer of the Rockies *yawn* in the same angle pic as the Sheets card.  I’m sure there’s some variety in the set.  But there wasn’t much of it in this pack.

But I have a feeling this guy is the reason this pack is #10.  I watched the game where he treated Brandon Ryan like his tag-a-long little brother at a pick up game at the park.  I remember after his opening day victory at GABP when he complained that the balls used were too slick.  And I remember his as the guy who fanned the flames of the cooling fracas between the Reds and the Cardinals the day after Brandon Phillips comments back in August.  So I don’t have a lot of good feelings toward Chris Carpenter, which, again, is probably the reason this pack hits bottom.

Not even Cal Ripken could save it.  Back in the 80’s this card would have ranked the pack a lot higher.  but after the streak, I got burned out on the guy pretty quick.  I had no idea he had so many seasons of .250-.265 averages, either.  No doubt it’s the tint of those iron man glasses that make even those seasons that much better in hindsight, I suppose.

So there you go, I finally got to pack ten.  Remember to guess the best of the bunch (listed in the previous post) before I post pack nine for the possible chance to maybe get something with no guarantee whatsoever.  Hopefully Ican get to that in the next couple of days.  What have you got to lose?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

